We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fowey Hotel”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Maidencombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fowey Hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our second stay at The Fowey Hotel, and as before we enjoyed excellent service & food. The staff are, without exception, extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful location and lovely views from the public rooms, bedrooms and restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 202 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mole02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    348
    89
    28
    21
See reviews for
150
973
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

good hotel,very good. staff furniture could be updated but overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have visited Fowey for many years and now always include a couple of nights at the Fowey
Hotel. The location is superb with stunning views over the harbour and out to sea. This traditional hotel is very comfortable with excellent food. You are always given a warm, friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We shall definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I and our six year old daughter stayed here for a weekend in October. I am at a loss to understand all the extremely positive reviews on this site. The hotel is average at best. The decor is tired, the bedrooom was tired, the bathrooms was tired - all very old fashioned. But I suspect that there are a lot of guests who like this sort of thing and hence the good reviews. It is not a hotel for younger people! The food was reasonable but the service was not great for what is not a cheap hotel. A young, clearly training, waiter seemed to be on duty all the time and although he tried he made so many mistakes (like bringing hot milk for tea) and whilst it feels churlish to comment on this, the hotel management has to remember that guests are paying a lot of money for their stay and expect to have tip top service from staff who know what they are doing. The reception staff were very good. However,we were charged for our daughter to be in our room (quite understandably) but when we received the invoice there was an extra charge for her bed. We were told that some people bring their own beds even for children beyond the toddler stage. Really?!! Overall, we went away feeling very disgruntled and ripped off. It was not a cheap weekend and I am sure we would have been a lot better off somewhere else. Who needs a boutique hotel? We do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Lovely clean room, excellent service from all staff. Food wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have been visiting Fowey for many years and have always wanted to stay at the Hotel and were not disappointed. The Autumn Glow offer was a really good opportunity to try the Hotel and we were very impressed. The service by all staff, without exception was excellent and very friendly, the food was superb. We dined in the restaurant on two evenings and all courses were delicious and beautifully presented. The hotel decor has an air of faded grandeur, in-keeping with it's history. Our room (301) was large with 2 rear view windows and also a side view window of the river towards town which was an unexpected bonus as we had not paid for a sea view front facing room. The hospitality tray was restocked each day with a selection of quality fresh coffees, speciality teas and biscuits. The only slight downside to this room was the occasional noise from the adjacent antique (in the real sense) lift doors early in the morning but that is only a small quibble and didn't bother us too much.
The estuary views from the bar and dining rooms are superb plus there are gardens and an outdoor balcony with the same vistas. We were very lucky to be there during the unexpected late summer heatwave and were out during the daytime hours but in the event of bad weather the hotel bar and lounge would be pleasant places to sit and read or simply relax and watch river life outside.
We will definitely return again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and also our beloved Fowey to anyone.
Plus points - service, food, location.
Minus points - Lack of car parking spaces and probably not suitable for anyone with mobility problems due to the elevated position.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

A little old fashioned charm and comfort can be found at the Fowey Hotel. The staff help with their quiet friendliness without being over attentive. Our room was without the fabulous view that can be had by paying more but was spotless, spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The dinner was excellent in that all courses were individually cooked and tasted of the main ingredient without being messed about with. The breakfast was extensive and as well presented as dinner.
I do hope that Richardsons spend a little money on the reception and bar area. It is tatty and fails to support an otherwise good place to be.
The Fowey is worthy of a visit.

Room Tip: The views from the hotel are superb so buy a sea facing room if that is important to you. There will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSA948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
641 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
836 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing