We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful, nice resteraunt”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed at the Fowey hotel for a two night stay. This was our third time. The restaurant and public rooms remain the best attribute of the hotel with excelllent views over the estuary and out to sea. It is a very quiet hotel and perhaps could do with a lttle shake up in and around the bar with regard to serving and clearing up.
We cant help feeling that the hotel could make more of its attributes.
If you want peace and quiet and a nice quality of food then this is a good choice.
The inland room we had was adequate, being a Victorian building you have to allow for 'character' . We have stayed in a sea view room before and if you want to pay the extra it is nice to have the views and be able to hear the water if you are able to go in Spring / summer and have the windows open..
Location is very good for the town, very nice small beach and local ferries.
Pay the aditional £10 / night charge and book the limited parking.
Pre booking dinner also makes a saving, but we were a little dissapointed that there is usually one item on the menu that carries an extra charge. Given that we payed £25/head (from a 'walk in' charge of £35 / head) we would have thought the menu could be arranged to work within the standard cost. That said it was three courses and very nice quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIKTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Fowey Hotel is definately 4 and half stars. Our room was beautiful, comfortable with a great bathroom, an excellent king bed with lovely linens. They provide good teas and coffees in the room with all the trimmings. The Restaurant was lovely, great staff, good menu choices. Lovely views from our room with windows on 2 sides. Only critisism is the parking, there's not enough. The owners should get rid of one of the gardens - preferably the English tea garden on the shore to make more parking, and improve the other garden.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilkoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I cannot recommend this place highly enough, its a bit of a mix of old and new but the mix has worked well. Its location is perfect just a short walk from the centre of Fowey and for those who dont know its pronounced foy as to rhyme with joy just thought i would mention that, its also one of the very few hotels here that has its own parking make sure you reserve your space when booking, there is a charge of £10 per 24hrs but well worth it. We booked a room with views over the estuary and we were not disappointed, just beautiful. The staff without exception were very polite, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good, we did not have dinner there so i can,t comment on that but the dinner menu did look pretty good. I wouldnt describe Fowey as a holiday resort for kids, theres nothing much there apart from the usual holiday shops, fish and chips and couple of pubs but it is one of the prettiest places to visit in Cornwall in my opinion, and, so i am told, really comes alive in August when the regatta comes to town for a week.

Room Tip: Costs a little more but the rooms with a view of the estuary are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Grand Victorian building near entrance to Fowey Harbour bedrooms are all good size and front ones have spectaular views of harbour.Not luxury/ boutiquefitiings but reasonably modern fittings done in last 5 years .
Bar has particularly good positon overlooking garden / river and garedn itself is large / pretty.Restaurant is bit stuffy and there are plenty to walk to in town

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front on upper floors for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venturer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Fowey (pronounced like 'joy') is tiny, so don't accidentally go to Fowey Hall hotel, instead of Fowey Hotel. They're quite different. Perched on the steep escarpments that tower over the estuary, the Fowey Hotel is a Victorian gem. Letters by Kenneth Graham (Wind in the Willows) are framed on the walls and Daphne du Maurier's house is a short walk along the esplanade. My sister and I shared an upgraded room ( a bit larger with a bay window) facing the water. The view from the wonderful large old casement windows was mesmerizing and ever-changing. The bathroom was upgraded and room nicely painted and carpeted. My only quibble is that they need to upgrade mattresses and linens. Service was unfailingly helpful, even when we needed to ask a maid to help us figure out the old-fashioned hand-gate elevator. Order off the menu breakfast was excellent in a gorgeous dining room again with spectacular views. Did I mention there were spectacular views everywhere? Especially the bar which had floor to ceiling windows. I loved hanging out in the parlor, which was often empty and full of wonder victorian touches. It opened onto a balcony with...the amazing views. Short walk to adorable town of Fowey. DO park in their lot, which they charge for, but you have no choice as the town is very short on parking.

Room Tip: Be sure to face the water, which most rooms do, but not all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I whisked my girlfriend to Fowey for a surprise weekend to propose marriage! I plumped for Fowey Hotel and it exceeded all expectations garnered from the internet. It is traditional and is very well run. The rooms are big and our second room - a four poster with sea view - was simply amazing. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful at all times. The location is superb - a 5 minute or so walk from town and just separate enough for some quietude in the grounds or on the balcony. The icing on the cake though was the restaurant. Fowey is not rich in restaurants that tempted us so we fell back on eating at the hotel. It was quite simply exceptional, and good value. I would say if you can afford it book it without hesitation! And in case you are wondering, I proposed on Readymoney Beach and she said YES!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zavier1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We held our small wedding here at The Fowey Hotel and we couldn't have asked for more. The attention to detail and the attentiveness of staff was excellent which ensured we and our guests enjoyed our wonderful day.
A special thank you to Tristan and Jason.

There are not many places left where you experience old fashioned courteousness. They seem to have the level just right there if needed, but not intrusive.

The food is excellent at the hotel and in all the times we have stayed here, we have never been disappointed.
All the public areas have superb views over the Fowey river and the restaurant is a very impressive room with some original features. We have stayed in several of the rooms and all have been clean and traditionally furnished. It is worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
This is not a modern swish boutique hotel, it is a Victorian hotel with verandas and tea gardens which overlook the river and out to sea. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Fowey Hotel as the 'Old Lady' is full of warmth and charm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cozyblanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: $101 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing