We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of Feb on a 3night stay through Travelzoo. This hotel is a very friendly, luxurious place to stay. We had room James which was enormous, at side of hotel on first floor overlooking front lawns. It was well furnished with one of the most comfortable large beds ever. There was a very large bathroom with separate shower and bath. Plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries. We were there during the stormy weather and the staff were excellent reassuring people and arranging for cars to be moved when some trees came down in the grounds. The shutters were closed and the fires banked up and we were more than happy to stay put and eat in the excellent restaurant. The food was a very high standard and delicious. Fowey Hall is a great place to stay and we will be back there next time we are in Fowey.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 'algil'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and managed to brave 'the storm' with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon (hopefully in some better weather)

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 693 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay and had a great time!

We booked the winter break for dinner, bed and breakfast and thought it was excellent value. We asked for (and got with a smile!) the complimentary upgrade advertised on the website. We chose rooms in the Courtyard - Badger and Mole - very spacious, lovely comfy beds and two huge bathrooms.

The meals were lovely, especially the breakfast. The family dining option worked for us, although we saw lots of other families also using the children's high tea with wine & nibbles for parents. The provision of bibs, plastic bowls and spoons made it very sensible and there were plenty of high chairs for our one year old. There was also a seemingly endless supply of fresh milk.

Our children (aged one and six) went to the Four Bears Den for the afternoon session on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed the painting session. We had the afternoon cream tea! A two hour session per day was included in the price (you need to pre-book so staffing can be planned) and the planned activities for the three sessions were clearly stated so the children could choose. For the older children there were lots of other activities, I really wished we had been there the nights the pool party and mini-pamper sessions were on. There was also a cinema session running each evening and a Sunday morning lie- in option for parents with the Den staff taking your children to have breakfast!!

The swimming pool was "awesome" for our older daughter. It was lovely and warm - the water and surrounding air. There was a lovely clean changing room with towels available and at 1.2m deep all over - perfect. We went several times and even though it was busy this didn't seem to matter - users were considerate and everyone was enjoying themselves.

The room was well equipped including baby stuff. The Elemis toiletries were plentiful and lots of towels, robes and slippers.

The staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

The offer made it excellent value, normally I guess it seems pretty pricey but you do get a lot included. We will definitely return to Fowey Hall and consider other hotels in the luxury family hotels group.

Room Tip: Badger & Mole were interconnecting rooms with lovely large bathrooms. The Courtyard was vey quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 'JaneBunton'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your 2 night stay at Fowey Hall and made use of all the family facilities on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall or perhaps one of the other Luxury Family Hotels soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived after a four hour journey, let the dogs, in laws and kid out of the car and looked across to the entrance where a young man Martin..was already ready to welcome us!
The hotel catered well for all of our needs and we probably used most of the services on offer, what with young, old, dogs and all! Outstanding was Martin a young front of house chap, who was one step ahead of everything that we would have needed like more champers, high chair, dog facilities etc. We had a great time and were introduced to the hotel thru TravelZoo. We would use the hotel again...only slightly negative was the breakfast staff could have done with a little more ver ver vroom...as I guess most people choose the same time to arrive for breakfast!...Maybe the Management should have breakfast before or after the guests and give a hand, as there were more of them in the reception / accounts area than serving on the busy floor...but apart from that...all good thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindsorBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 'WindsorBob6'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall and in particular found Martin to be extremely helpful and 'one step ahead of everything' during your stay. Thank you for your comments on breakfast service which we will certainly take on board.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I write this review about 6 months after my stay in Fowey Hall. The (good) impression has lingered. This should tell you something about how good it is.

This hotel has been designed with families in mind. The whole experience is intended to give the family a break - not just the room, but the service, the eating arrangements and everything else. By this I mean that the approach appears to be about giving every single member of the family a real break from day to day life, rather than simply having the same problems but in another location.

There are toys conveniently available in the public areas so the little ones can play while the adults sort out business. There's both a family dining area and a more adult dining area. There are childcare facilities so that mum and dad can take the day off. The rooms have little touches to keep everyone are and make everyday tasks easier.

The staff are very friendly and without exception gave the impression that this is where they wanted to be.

I don't have a bad word to say about this place and if the family travels take us to Cornwall again, the decision about where to stay will be pretty easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 'cotuil'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall in September. It was positive to know we have created a good lasting impression for your family and we hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall in the future.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a wonderful find! The staff were absolutely fab. The room was beyond expectations and the food was out of this world. We travelled on a 3-night offer and the hotel, with wonderful views overlooking the estuary and town of Fowey was really excellent. I could feel any tensions melting away. The Spa and pool were an added bonus.
It was such a comfortable, smart, friendly place and nothing was too much trouble. And they even arranged some decent weather for us!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lawns with views of the estuary and town were excellent. Not seen any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear 'TrishinBrighton''

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and glad we managed to arrange the weather too!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A really great experience, a genuine welcome from friendly and knowledgeable staff. On a very wet and windy day the two log fires in the lounges were very welcoming. Our every need was catered for during our stay, probably one of our best ever hotel stays anywhere. The food selection was very comprehensive and reasonably priced and a good wine selection available. The only small downside in the restaurant was being asked if I would like water with my meal and then being charged £3.75 for a small bottle, on looking around other tables during my meal I noticed that every other table had got jugs of iced tap water provided, but this was not offered to us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xockered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear 'Xockered'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall and found the staff to be both friendly and knowledgeable. We also take on board your comments about the water served with evening dinner - we do try to ensure our guests are offered all choices available to them and I apologise if you did not experience this.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We bought a travel zoo voucher for our stay at Fowey Hall & thanks to their kindness & understanding were allowed to change our stay after cancelling with 24 hours notice when our beloved pet cat became suddenly & terminally ill. So we travelled there in January instead of November as planned and were very grateful for their understanding of something that was very sad & traumatic for us, and we really appreciated them doing this which shows great customer care service.
We have visited Fowey a few times on day visits & had always wanted to stay there and we were delighted to arrive at Fowey Hall & appreciate the great position it holds with great views both out to sea & up the estuary as well as over the delightful town & across to Polruan.
We had a lovely room with plenty of space & lots of good toiletries supplied for the bathroom. it was all spotlessly clean & well serviced by house keeping during our stay.
We had very nice food for our evening meal & plenty of choice at breakfast too.
The staff were all friendly & its a very laid back atmosphere they manage to provide there which is just how it should be in Cornwall.
We enjoyed returning from our visits out to the welcoming log fires in the lounges where we sat & relaxed.
We must give a special mention to Cherish( what a fab name) who convinced us to do whats called the Hall walk where you cross over on the Bodinnick ferry & find the entrance a little way up the hill which takes you through the woods,along the estuary to Pont & then continue on to Polruan before crossing back to Fowey on the Polruan ferry. We absolutely loved it & I expect it improves with the greener seasons.
We also enjoyed a soak in the hot tub whilst admiring the stars & views over the town.
Would we return, yes absolutely ! We only stayed 2 nights & yet we both felt like we had been away a lot longer as we felt so relaxed after our time there.
Thank you to all the staff.
Gloria & John

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmadIver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear 'travelmadlver'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you eventually got to relax and enjoy your break at Fowey Hall. Glad you also enjoyed the beautiful Hall Walk - we would definitely recommend this to all of our guests!

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,399 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: $189 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing