We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Autumn Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Autumn Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived here on 6th Sept after four nights stay at sister hotel Moonfleet Manor in Dorset (see my review). I have stayed in this area in many different hotels between mid 1970's and last year as I had business with the china clay people (now retired). However not stayed here, nor had my wife ever visited Fowey. Its a lovely spot, and the location of this hotel superb. If you get fed up of the steep walk down into town, then the main town car park is nearby with a regular bus service.
Nice welcome and an excellent ground floor room with patio doors onto a grassy area (with goal posts, and swing ball) Staff were polite and attentive.
We did have some food issues, particularly at breakfast. Sunday was abominable - very slow, the fried egg solid (this happened on three of four days) , awful sausage full of gristle, and cold mushrooms. We would liked a bit more choice at dinner also, though the food served here was generally good.
There was plenty of provision for those with children.
Staff were generally polite and helpful, though sometimes with a slight condescending air

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 'fsharpminor'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall however it seems there were a few issues which I firstly must apologise for and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you.

I would be grateful if you can contact me at the hotel at your convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you soon & hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    130
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
288
225
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at Fowey Hall between 5th and 8th September, in the William Hanson suite which has a duplex setup.

Fowey Hall set on hill in large well kept grounds with great views, above Fowey town.

Reception staff are very helpful, we where shown all facilities on arrival.

We used the Baby/Toddler listening service. Our little boy was able to sleep upstairs in the cot provided, while we we able to enjoy the excellent food and wine in the restaurant.

Breakfast was good, all very low key and staff again very helpful.

The rooms are clean and tidy, when booking we did ask for a fridge to be put in room, which was done without question.

There are toys for the little ones in all of the large snug rooms and also newspapers for the adults to read while the kids play.

There's also plenty of outdoor toys too.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimesMangosBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 'LimesMangosBarbados'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with your family and felt the staff to be helpful and low key .

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thank you to all at Fowey Hall. We just had a sunny few days with grandparents, parents and kids at your hotel and all had a fabulous time! The kids (6 & 4) loved feeding the chickens, collecting an egg, trampolining, swimming, 4 bears den, walking Bramble the cheeky dog and the Zip wire was a firm favourite. I particularly loved sitting in the outdoor jacuzzi looking out to sea in the morning when the kids were at the Den and my amazing massage from the spa. The staff are usual luxury family hotel style - informal, friendly and helpful. My dietary needs were really well catered for. They win the prize for best desert I have ever eaten - Mango creme brulee with mango sorbet. Yum!

The informal atmosphere, friendly attentive staff, beautiful stylish interiors, delicious food, large selection of whiskeys, spa, great views and well occupied kids kept the adult contingents very happy!

Being a close walk to Fowey town was a real bonus with it's cute shops, cafes, restaurants and amazing cornish ice cream. Watching the boats up and down the estuary from the hotel was very relaxing. We also walked to Readymoney Beach which was just lovely. Nearby to hotel, sandy, toilets, ice cream van, rocks to climb on, a pontoon to swim out to, protected from the wind, quite small so can't loose the kids!! Another day we got the ferry across the estuary - much excitement for two little boys. Eden Project is very nearby and was a great day out - educational and fun.

We hope to come again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandRuthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 'PaulandRuthLondon'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with all of your family and felt that there was something to occupy everyone of all ages!

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My family (2 adults, 3 children under 5) stayed a couple of weeks ago. We booked last minute after taking a dislike on arrival to the place we had planned to stay at near Newquay. We were very pleased to get anywhere else and as we had previously stayed at Moonfleet Manor this hotel seemed a good choice. We were not disappointed, the staff were wonderful from the start, food great and the views from the terrace wonderful.  It was child friendly without being hectic and still with some adult luxury. My only my slight criticism was the particular room we stayed in. We stayed in Combes and Powell. The room itself was lovely and to a standard I would have expected but there were none of the wonderful estuary/sea views that many of the rooms have and it was above the kitchen. But this was a very minor issue and certainly didn't deject from a fantastic stay, we were just sorry they didn't have space for us for longer at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmab04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear ' Emmab04'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall in August with your family and felt you still had adult luxuries as well as being child friendly - this is what we are all about!

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon - perhaps if you give me a call personally we can discuss which room options would work best for you and your family and which have the best views over the estuary.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at Fowey Hall on many occasions. It is a wonderful place.

Our first visit was the week they opened in the summer of 1998 - a gloriously chaotic stay as they hadn't managed to get the builders out until the day before they opened so the staff spent whole time on the back foot, learning as they went, with late dinners, failed plumbing and patchy service - but that still ranks among the best holidays we've ever had. Fowey Hall was then, as it is now, utterly wonderful.

That winter we retuned with our entire family for a big New Year gathering, which was excellent, and we have been back again and again and loved every visit.

Now our kids are older and family holidays becoming a distant memory, three of us returned this week for a buffet/barbecue lunch just to check the old place out. It has hardly changed a bit - the service is still excellent and friendly, the welcoming smell of wood fireplaces so immediately relaxing and the glorious view from terrace is spellbinding.

I challenge anyone to sit on that terrace in the sun with a drink in hand, listening to the kids playing on the lawn, and not think "it can't get any better than this". Or, if you go off-season when the cost is half and the rain is horizontal, just sit by the fire and have afternoon tea with a newspaper while the kids are being expertly supervised in the crèche.

Downsides? None that spring to mind. Ok, it is quite expensive but, without question, it's superb value.

Fowey Hall is, in our experience, one of the finest hotels for families. Such a shame our kids have outgrown family holidays!

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms in the new wing are superb and new; Turret family rooms in the main house are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JupiterEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 'Jupiter Eight'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch at Fowey Hall - it sounds like you have created some great family memories at Fowey Hall - perhaps you can return with the grandchildren one day!?

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the Fowey Hall Hotel, the family had a great time. The zip wire was probably the favourite item in the grounds. Wonderful views from the rooms and grounds. We had good food for every meal, but would have liked to see more variation in the menu from day to day, perhaps a special or two. Our bed was not the best we have slept in but the head housekeeper sorted it very quickly. We hope to return in 2014.

Room Tip: For best views choose an upstairs room and in the new wing not to near the main house as it blocks s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 'Mike C'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall and the children in particular enjoyed the zip wire in the garden! We will certainly take your comments on board regarding the variation of the menu & very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great place for a family in the middle of a hectic visit to England!

Anyone who travels with kids knows you can't go 100% for too long without causing meltdowns. As we planned our 2 week trip we knew we needed some downtime after the 'sensory overload' we'd have in London. Looking for options (and also thinking that it would be an interesting experience to stay in a castle or manor) we happened upon Fowey Hall.

We certainly weren't disappointed. The informal, relaxed atmosphere is exactly what we needed for a few days of downtime. Our kids (8 and 3) loved taking Bramble (the dog) for a walk, feeding the chickens, using the pool, and playing on the trampoline and zip line. Our 3 yr old also thought her afternoon in the Bears' Den was fantastic.

In reviewing the stay, it is important to understand what Fowey Hall isn't. If you are looking for a kids club that lets you drop off your children for the day so you can have an adult holiday then this isn't the place for you. Similarly, this isn't an all-inclusive resort that brings you drinks poolside. And if you are expecting a quiet couples' get away without kids then you've picked the wrong place!

However, this is an excellent choice if you are looking for a relaxed vacation in a great location. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are well suited for families, and there are enough distractions to keep children occupied. The food was not always spectacular but was very good and, more importantly, allowed for lots of flexibility in eating with or without the kids.

We stayed in the Wild Wood room, in the courtyard and separate from the main building. Being away from the main building wasn't an issue at all. I agree with some of the other reviews that the rooms were comfortable though a bit musty (and not helped by one day of very "moist" weather, wet swim suits, etc.). For a family-oriented hotel it would also have been useful to have the shower and toilet separate from the rest of the bathroom. However, the room was otherwise very nice, with 2 bedrooms and lots of space for all the things being carried around during an extended trip.

Fowey Hall is certainly not for everyone. However, if you are looking for a relaxed location well suited for families with younger children then this is a place to consider.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear 'DSSanders'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hall with your family and found the hotel to be relaxed and informal we hope you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing