We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fowey Hall
Nearby Hotels
$291
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
$116
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
$115
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
507
161
48
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
161
48
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip wirefamily hotelhot tubkids clubthe baby listening servicespa treatmentsthe main hotelcinema roomoutdoor jacuzziluxury hotelbuckets and spadesafternoon teagrown upsyoung familiesschool holidaysthree childrenfamily break
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 738 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything we hoped it would be! We (mum, dad and 2 girls ages 2 and 5), loved this place. The crèche was excellent and both girls said it was their favourite part of our break away. We sat outside with our drinks whilst the girls enjoyed the trampoline, we had a great time at the swimming pool, ate together during family dining time and ended the day in the movie room whilst still being served drinks (milk & biscuits for the children).
Our family suite was in the main house with the children's sleeping area in a turret, very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and keen to accommodate us. Fowey was a steep walk down and back but only ten minutes and lovely shops and cafes.
Would recommend this to anyone with young children.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear 'lovethesunshineDevon'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall and you and your family enjoyed the hotels facilities.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed one night in May - lovely setting, staff discreet but on hand at all times, rooms well decked out (but no fridge) in our room we had double bed - but a small one - 4' 6" (check before/when you book). Also our room had an interconnecting door to the adjacent one and you could easily hear the guests next door. Breakfast was excellent but quite a few little kids about - most well behaved but a few were whinging. I thought it was like being invited as a guest at a country/manor house and all the staff were there to look after your every need.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear 'jilyf'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall - we do welcome children here with open arms but we do also try to ensure we have the right balance for parents wanting to enjoy some 'me time' or adults travelling without children. Thank you for your comments which we will certainly take on board and remedy the issues raised regarding your room.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall in the future

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Fowey Hall for one night on the way back from spending the half term week in north Cornwall. It was the best bit of our entire holiday! Travelling with a toddler is seldom a relaxing experience but everything has been so well thought out at Fowey Hall that it was a real joy.

The staff were friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed and homely without compromising on service and style. We felt that the setting was perfect for a family break, but it was equally great for our adult time in the evening too. The baby listening service meany we could relax in the lounge with a cocktail whilst our little one snoozed upstairs.

The children's Sunday beakfast club was fantastic. We got a lie in, went to the spa (amazing views from the hot tub) and enjoyed a delicious breakfast with the papers whilst our little girl had a great time with the nannies, having breakfast with some other children and playing in the Four Bear's Den. We then took her for a swim and exdplore the lovely grounds - a paradise for adventurous children.

We will definitely go back to Fowey Hall again and stay longer to be able to explore more of the beautiful village and beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear 'Mrs Hatty'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short break at Fowey Hall and made great use of the children's breakfast club so you could get a lie in!

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again for a longer stay soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at Fowey Hall. The largest suite I have ever stayed in. In fact we had 8 windows! We had 2 bedrooms. The smeller one had bunk beds, TV and chest of drawers along with a rocking chair. The main bedroom was huge with a kingsize bed, huge wardrobe, Tv, sitting area etc. Massive bathroom with claw feet bath and a rain shower. Also an additional loo. Lots of antique mirrors and mainly modern art paintings. Only slight criticism is the shower is small considering the bathroom is so large.
Hotel has loads of comfy sofas to read the paper. Loads of books and DVDs. A games room and a spa. Lovely fireplaces too. We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was very good with plenty of choice ad very good quality.
The location is good too on the edge of the town centre. Just be prepared to walk up a steep hill ad steps on the way back.
The gardens have plenty for kids - trampoline, croquet, zip wire, badminton etc. We didn't go to the spa or pool so I can't comment.
Overall a lovely family hotel, particularly for those with young children.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Jacqui309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear 'jacqui309'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your break at Fowey Hall with your family and enjoyed the spacious accommodation we have on offer.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has really pulled its socks up - rooms have been very tastefully decorated, and the young staff could not be better; they're dressed smart casual, but know the answer to every question you may have.

This is a family friendly hotel, but one where they recognise that Mum and Dad need their own space and luxuries. There's a hotel dog; a frizbee golf trail; buckets and spades to take when off on a trip. Manager Chris - who has two young girls - has got the tone just right. And thank you again to him for introducing us to the Camel Valley Cornish white wine - a lunchtime essential!

The pool and outdoor hot tub are wonderful, and the gardens well kept. You are above the town so have magnificent views and light. If you have a paintbrush and easel - bring them!

The food was very good - more modern than we anticipated - lovely lunch sharing plates. And the rooms are well positioned to keep out the noise of other guests.

One tiny niggle would be the traditional English hotel bar: there isn't one. Staff will bring you your drinks in the lounges. And those include some rare gins - Death's Door lived up to its name.

Fowey itself is charming - with good pubs and restaurants. Easy to get downhill to, but not so easy on the way back up.

Room Tip: Rooms in the coach house are away from the main hotel, but are quiet and large. 1st floor of these is preferable to the ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear 'BossHanson'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you found we had the right balance of 'special and informal' and particularly pleased we have introduced you to Camel Valley wine!

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall again soon.

Warm regards
Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews