We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school, modern conveniences, great staff and perfect location.”
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fowey Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old school, modern conveniences, great staff and perfect location.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This is not your typical sterile Travelodge style hotel... It's old school cool within a beautiful historic building in a sublime location. Our room (Mary Anne) was a great size with a beautiful (and large) modern en suite, the full width windows overlooking the estuary were a gorgeous bonus. The staff were attentive, super polite and very eager to please. The food was also excellent with a good selection of wines. This was a short post shopping/pre-Christmas treat for us and was just as we hoped - relaxing, peaceful and a Fowey joy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quickbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 'Quickbrit'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked Fowey Hall's charm as much as we do!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    134
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
293
233
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we recently stayed at this hotel .
we werent expecting to stay at all but issues forced us to stay the night .
what can i say mediocre decor ,tired furniture and in the main library i was surprised ,pleasantly to find totally updated decor and furniture ,which wasnt damp to the feel when sat on .
the gardens and view were amazing and the room we stayed in was lovely .
we had 2 lovely members of housekeeping call on us the next morning and couldnt do enough for us ,even though we were to leave hopefully that day .
zoe and Holly from housekeeping came back with extra tea and coffee etc and towels and kept rechecking if we were ok . fabulous customer services ,if anything this would entice us back .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear 'tracy k'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the gardens & the views but I am sorry that you thought some of the decor was tired.

Please do give us another chance, Luxury Family Hotels purchased Fowey Hall in December last year and work is under way to see the whole hotel renovated and upgraded.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person in order that I can make amends.

Please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

I hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Kind regards

Chris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We recently stayed in October for my brother wedding. We had a wonderful room - complete with 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms perfect for us and our 3 year old daughter. The decor to us was lovely - traditional and immensley comfortable - the beds were really comfy. It had character and you knew you were somewhere so special. The hotel was lovely and warm and the service was fabulous. This hotel combines service, luxury with being totally on hand to provide for families. The lovey touches of wellies by the front door, animal umbrellas, creche facilities, and 2 rooms filled with toys to attract to all ages (dolls house, jigsaws, dvd, cinema room, computers, table football) meant all children (& not so young kids!) had plenty to fill there time. This hotel goes the extra mile - they think about families - like ensuring your bottles are washed for you, providing beakers of milk and making you feel inclusive to the whole experience. The swiiming pool is gorgeous and a soak in the hot tub overlooking the sea is a joy!
The wedding was beautiful and the co-ordination was excellent. Totally Superb!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have an amazing view over the sea and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear 'TazBooth'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the wedding day itself at Fowey Hall.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall again soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Fowey Hall Hotel is a grand, imposing building steeped in history. The location is excellent - five minutes walk from the centre of Fowey, yet set above the town with sweeping views and impressive grounds. I arrived on a blustery November day to be met with the smell of woodsmoke and a roaring fire in one of the lounges. Chris, the affable manager, appeared promptly and organised me a coffee - a warm welcome indeed. (Although all teas and coffees are logged and charged - not complimentary as one former reviewer had suspected. That would be a nice touch - at least one a day anyway?).

My room was spacious, comfy and clean - perhaps a little tired around the edges, particularly in the bathroom, but it gets away with it in the name of traditional chic. In fact, it adds to the whole experience. (There are also some newly refurbished rooms across the courtyard, rather than in the main building but I didn't see these).

The spa is across the car park and has an impressive outdoor hot tub with views over the estuary (suprisingly they don't make much of this on their web site), as well as a decent sized pool and spa treatments.

The staff are excellent and welcoming - particularly Irina who served breakfast, which was a good spread of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and a choice of 4/5 hot dishes. The evening meal was average and very expensive for what it was. All very pleasant but not worth the money. You are better off going into town (even in the winter, Sam's the diner is open and highly recommended - it is, after all, where many of the locals go, and is buzzing even in winter. In summer you have a much wider choice.).

In all a lovely stay, like stepping back in time - roaring fires, a lounge and a library, efficient and welcoming staff. The only complaints? They need a bit of music in the lounge, particularly in the evening - a bit of jazz or something soulful in the background. Also, it is very dark walking down to town in the evening - they need more lights at the front and down the drive. One more grievance is not the hotel's fault, but the fault of the very noisy birds (crows?) in the glorious pine trees around the hotel. They start squawking at about 4am and keep going...not sure what the answer to that one is!

All in all - a lovely hotel and a great position But I got a £150 a night deal - not sure it quite justifies the full price tariff, unless they refurbish all the rooms?

Room Tip: Go for traditional rooms in the main building or the newly refurbished rooms across the courtyard, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear 'NKS74'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor- it helps us to adapt & evolve our offering. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us but the comments you have noted will be taken on board and we will do our best to address- although I am not sure what the solution is to the crows either! Luxury Family Hotels purchased the hotel in December last year and their extensive refurbishment program is under way which by the end of next year will see the whole hotel revitalised.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Yes it's a bit tired, but its a bloody joy and the very slight rough bits actually add to the fabulous character. It's just wonderful. The consideration for families is brilliant, but not overdone, they just understand what you need with littes ones in tow. Will come again and again. Would be a shame if they renovated away all the old charm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Womblefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Womblefox'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family. Luxury Family Hotels purchased the hotel in December last year and their extensive refurbishment program is under way which by the end of next year will see the whole hotel revitalised but the design team will make sure this doesn't take away from the charm of the house!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The great thing about this hotel is the staff, especially the reception staff. We were greeted warmly when we arrived by a smiling receptionist and a waiter. They took our cases to our room and made us feel welcome. Throughout our 3 day stay the staff just could not do enough for you.
A lot needs to be done however to make it perfect. Our room "Violet" was large but it had almost no furniture or lighting. There was one comfy chair (for two) and the wall lights gave only a soft glow. There were few surfaces. As soon as we rang the desk the receptionist produced another chair, a table and a couple of office type standard lights.
Dinner was good but the menu did not change and we were not told about specials. Three days of this was enough. The cheese was good and there was no extra charge for it. The waiters were helpful, polite but appeared a little out of their depth. The breakfast waitress was Polish and she was first class and I suspect she was fully trained when she was hired. Breakfast itself was satisfactory but not great.
We discussed all this with the manager Chris, on our last day and he was sympathetic. He told us the hotel had recently been taken over and there was a refurbishment programme under-way. He was most concerned to know of all our complaints.
The most important thing about all this which must be emphasised was the warmth of the staff making staying here an enjoyable experience for all its faults.
I therefore recommend this hotel and would come again.

Room Tip: "Violet" is large but dim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Geraldmichael'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor- it helps us to adapt & evolve our offering. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us but the comments you have noted will be taken on board and we will do our best to address. I am pleased we had chance to have a chat before you departed and if you would like to visit us again please give me a call and I will personally handle all arrangements.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had 2 nights at the hotel with friends last weekend. As none of us have young children, we chose to go outside of school holiday time and it worked perfectly. There were a couple of children there but this was not a problem at all as we had the pool to ourselves at the times we chose to go - and what fantastic views, from the pool, hot tub, our rooms etc. The food was really good (especially the vegetarian choices) and the service spot on; friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The setting is perfect, with walking distance to a lovely small beach and to the town itself. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Terry O'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved Fowey as much as we do!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Property: Fowey Hall
Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing