We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Artist's House

Artist's House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist's House
Ranked #16 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Vivienne was an excellent host, her house was cozy and nice, we had the room with the beautiful sea view. Vivienne was also helping us exploring the village, recommending walks and restaurants. Her breakfasts are excellent!

Room Tip: One has sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris0979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Vivien is quite a character as several other reviewers have rightly said. She's not just a charming and entertaining host with awesome marmelade making skills, she runs a superb B&B.

The bedroom was beautifully decorated, breakfast was superb and the location is extremely good - it is on a very quiet road just a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

Vivien is always happy to give personal recommendations, share maps and generally go the extra mile to help guests to enjoy their stay. I can't recommend "the Artist's House" highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577MarkW577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very different B&B. Vivienne is warm and welcoming and has a vast array of local knowledge.
The breakfasts are very good and cooked to your liking, the eggs fresh from the gardens hens.

Our room has very little hot water, certainly not enough for a bath. We didn't mention it as on arrival I asked what time the "heating came on" and Viv looked wounded.
Still all in all a comfortable stay in a good location.

AG Cranes Ltd on tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AG-Cranes-Ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Artist's House is fairly suburban in appearance and location on the outskirts of Fowey. The hill down to town is steep (on the way back certainly!) and car's don't really work in Fowey. It is quiet and on-street parking wasn't a problem.

The room was small but had a decent sized en-suite. There wasn't much storage. The windows need a bit of TLC as the handles appeared to be falling off. It also had the most complicated TV I have ever seen. Whilst the room was small, it was perfectly manageable and I would happily stay there again in the knowledge that its small.

So they are the negatives that have led me to question the price. However everything else, and in particular Vivien, was wonderful. Vivien has received awards for her breakfasts and it's easy to see why. You share her kitchen table and she prepares whatever you want - from haddock and eggs to pancakes, full English (Cornish) to muffins. All served with beautiful bread.

We arrived in Fowey with a limited itinerary and Vivien was wonderful in providing us with maps and suggesting walks, lunch stops, and the whereabouts of local celebrities.

Accept it for what it is. A suburban house with modest accommodation but the most wonderful, welcoming and, dare I say it, fabulous host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saker1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Vivien's home for three nights at the end of July, and it was definitely the most fun B&B experience we had this trip. We stayed in the Harbor Room, which was immaculately maintained and which contained everything we could possibly need - including cocoa for a late night snack! The room is decorated with Vivien's textile works and is a colorful and eclectic mix that just makes you smile when you walk into the room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Despite the seagulls, who were having an all-nighter outside our window, we slept soundly. Vivien's breakfast was very tasty, especially the homemade bread, taken together with the other couple staying there either in the garden or at the kitchen table. Discussions were lively and wide-ranging in topic and made for some entertaining interludes. Bless her heart, Vivien even did our laundry for us the evening we checked in - granted, not without a small comment about traveling lightly. Without Vivien, this accommodation would have been lovely and well worth returning to. But, with Vivien as hostess, I can think of no place in my travels that I would rather return to more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timnconnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We recently had a fabulous four night stay with Vivien at Artist's House B&B. Both rooms were very comfortable and included many thoughtful touches (shower caps, wooden hangers in the wardrobe and fresh flowers). Vivien was very welcoming and tremendously helpful with directions to various places, suggestions for day trips, assisting with some much needed washing and even arranging a hair appointment for my mother. As others have noted, parking in Fowey is somewhat restricted so we were very relieved to be able to park in the driveway. Breakfast was also great with home-made bread and fresh fruit salad each day. We would be verry ahppy to return and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base in this beautiful part of Cornwall!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Good_nights_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We would, and probably will, go back. Vivien made our stay comfortable and effortless. Superb breakfasts with home-made bread and jams - and great conversation. Vivien is a mine of useful and interesting information about Cornwall and how to get the best out of it. Our room, although not huge, was perfectly adequate and above all the bed was comfortable. Only a short walk from the town and quayside. There are some great walks to be had here and access to regional attractions is very good. I won't repeat what others have said, but agree with all of them so far. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#2 of 25 in Fowey
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's House

Property: Artist's House
Address: 40 Vicarage Meadow, Fowey PL23 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist's House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Artist's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing