We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, hostess, village”
Review of Artist's House

Artist's House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist's House
Ranked #17 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, hostess, village”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with Vivien at her B&B and would have loved to stay longer. An artist and native of Cornwall, Vivien is a delightful hostess, fun conversationalist, and had great suggestions for activities and sights. Her B&B is situated in town up the hill from the harbor above the old church and blissfully peaceful. Our room was great, very comfortable bed, a water view, spacious modern bath, and lovely fabric art. And the breakfasts were superb with the eggs from the "girls" in the eggloo out back along with homemade breads, jams, jellies. The village is charming and there are beautiful walks along the coast. We enjoyed some of the most memorable days of our 3 week UK trip there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very different from the formal, 'vacate by 10' type of place. Vivien, the host, is delightful, interesting and friendly. The house is eclectically decorated, full of her gorgeous textile artwork and the breakfasts are delicious, just the right size and cooked to perfection (eggs provided by the 'girls' out the back). Homemade bread, marmalade and jams top it off. Work off the food by walking down to the quay (and back up again!!!) Vivien's welcome packs save you a trip to the information centre, and come with personal recommendations. If you want spit and polish, try somewhere else, but if you want comfortable beds, a warm welcome and great food, this is for you!

Room Tip: Both rooms okay; town view probably better but not as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamelafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Really nice B&B, Vivien is so helpful and makes the best breakfasts ever.
The rooms has an artistic feel to it, very different from the standard sleek design. the bed and pillows are so good!
Very quiet and relaxing place too, up the hill so you will need good legs :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in the Harbour view room for three nights and had a fab time. The room was lovely with fab views and Vivien was an amazing host. Nothing was too much trouble and we loved the personal touches of Viviens art work all around the house. Fresh eggs from the chickens added to the great breakfasts, home made jams and marmalade compliment the homemade bread. Vivien has an amazing knowledge of the area and supplies a bag of maps etc when you arrive. We look forward to our next stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Vivien was a brilliant host with great recommendations on where to eat and what to do. We were both really impressed with the pack of information provided included the much needed Ordanance Survey map. The room was very clean an comfortable, with an amazing selection of tea and breakfast was lovely. I was on a special diet and Vivien was happy to help. A pleasure to stay and I am sure we will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

You don't often meet someone as interesting and friendly as Vivienne and she used all her local knowledge and artistic flair to make our stay so enjoyable. She made a pot of tea when we returned each day from our local expeditions. There was no set time for breakfast. And she supplied a bagful of local maps and attraction leaflets about which she had many helpful tips to maximise our enjoyment.

Room Tip: The harbour room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cresfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

A very warm welcome from the artist/landlady. A large and comfortable bed in a room full of art, with a view over the pretty garden. The house overlooks the estuary, and it is a quick walk down to the delights of the ancient town of Fowey. Breakfast included home-made bread and Mr Kittowe's wonderful sausages... what more could anyone want?

Room Tip: Good for visiting Cornish gardens and Eden Project
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's House

Property: Artist's House
Address: 40 Vicarage Meadow, Fowey PL23 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist's House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Artist's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing