We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations?”
Review of The Boathouse - CLOSED

The Boathouse
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
St.Albans
Level Contributor
147 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great expectations?”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Looks great, delivers less. Drinks prices imaginative ( no house wine offering and bottles starting a t £16.00). Pizzas average at best and in agreement with other contributors, found lacking in toppings ordered. Atmosphere just short of paddington station concourse and bitterly cold.
Will not be beating a path back as there are many other good eateries here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grubhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    38
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok place for a busy Saturday evening”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Restaurant don't take bookings, there was only 1 table left. Staff extremely friendly and helpfull, which was needed: they forgot our appetizer, we ended up with the wrong pizza's. When the correct one's arrived, they were not warm anymore. The toppings were limited as well, my wife had to search quite well to find any peppers.
We received our appetizer as a take away for free.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice contemporary atmosphere, staff were happy and keen to serve.

Food was very fresh and crisp (nice to have good quality balsamic, not the runny stuff!) - stone baked pizzas were fab.

Recommend the warm bakewell tart for dessert.

We didn't pre-book & got the last table on a Fri evening - glad we did - great little contemporary italian restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have eaten here every year since I was young. Very well presented food and reasonably priced. Heat lamps outside to keep everyone warm and seats inside. Staff very friendly and lovely menu. Want to return!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllaFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off our list to visit again”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We'd been for a long walk around the estuary and decided the Boat House had the best views for a coffee and somewhere to sit with a dog. It was about 3pm and it was closed but others were sat drinking coffees and when I asked them they said it was owned by the attached bar and to order in there. I politely waited 5 minutes in the bar to order coffees and the waitress in the Restaurant saw me waiting but made no effort to come through. So I approached her and somewhat reluctantly my order was taken. When the coffees were served she told us the Boat House outdoor seating area was closed and we should not be sat there. "It was open, full of people, your other area is full, so what is the problem?" She huffed and left. Another waitress told another couple the same story. Is the owner aware this small issue will lose him business?

Petra and her colleagues were from Eastern Europe and unfortunately confirmed my previous experience of them being sulky and bordering rude, unlike the Brits during our 2 weeks in Cornwall.

Our business will go elsewhere on the next visit to Fowey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustn't-Grumble-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing