We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pub atmosphere and good food”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Traditional pub atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Presents a traditional English pub atmosphere, low beams, old prints, a stained glass window. In a village packed with history. Service was functional, but the fish main course (sole) we both ordered was very good. And as was the apple crumble for dessert. But the coffee to join the dessert was a mistake.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    120
    35
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT SUNDAY ROAST”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was undoubtedly the best Sunday roast pub style I've had for a long time. Great selection of veg, homemade Yorkshire pudding and succulent roast pork all for a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend this on any given Sunday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank THUMPER553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A lovely pub in the heart of the village. We have drunk in here on many occasions but this was the first time we had eaten there. There was plenty of choice with an excellent specials board. I chose fish pie of the main menu and my husband chose Mackeral of the specials board. Neither of us was disappointed. Both meals were large portions, piping hot and extremely tasty. We sat in the little restaurant area upstairs and although it was quiet it was a lovely room to sit in. An excellent meal and we will definitely be eating there again on our next visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fallenangel1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great pub food and a friendly welcome!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in Fowey for a week and we ate at The Ship twice! Both times we had lovely meals which were well presented and very tasty! The fish and chips were amazing as were the burgers. When you first walk into the pub, it does not look like a typical 'gastro pub,' but the food is really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Value”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal here, great value, and good home cooked food.

Would recommend if you are in the area and looking for a decent meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing