We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of the Meditteranean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhale Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A slice of the Meditteranean”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved this site. Incredible views on first arrival of the sea. Very easy going management and everything you need on site - hot showers, toilets, washing facilities, a games room, a shop. Very peacedful -except for the cows in the field across the road.!! A 10 minute walk to the beach, 30 mins walk in to Fowey and a bus stop on main road. Good facilities for hooking upto water/elec/gas. And very well priced. We had a car and tent for the two of us. We piad about £19 per night. One small criticism was that the grass could have done with cutting. Especially in the mornings the long grass created much dew and made outdoor living a litle damp. We loved it though and would def stay again.

Room Tip: We camped in the big field. Book early to book a site with access to gas/elec/water. Probably bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonorOak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location for excellent day trips. Service plots flat, rest of camp a bit hilly. Short walk to the beach over farmland and woody track. Local produce available on site - eggs from hens from the campsite farm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BobbinAsquith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this camping location it was fine, we were quite a walk to the toilet/shower block but these were always clean and tidy. Views across the bay were idyllic probably wouldn't return but that's for no bad reason other than to try somewhere new as our 12 year old was bored and their games room wasn't very good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DealSalSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a one night stay here just to see the red arrows, and the campsite was more than adequate. Clean toilet block and showers, helpful owners and beautiful views! Lots of room to set up your pitch and I'd not feel overcrowded, yes there was a field with a bit of. A gradient but hey ho! We are camping! This of course may be more of an issue for a longer stay but as I said there are plenty of pitches to choose from! All in all a great little "basic" campsite, would be more than happy to stay again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The camping is in a nice place near the beach. the cost is about 20 euros for 2 persons and a car.. ok.. not expensive but we found better camping in cornwall that cost 13-15 euros!!!! the toilet were ancient and not so good. but the beach of polkerris and the pub there were fantastic :)))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penombra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a week at Penhale, which was an excellent base because there were many fantastic places within walking distance - Fowey, Polkerris, Menabilly - and others a short drive away - St Austell, Bodmin, Lanhydrock (National Trust), Mevagissy to name a few. The gents toilets/showers were not always as clean as they could have been and toilet paper was sometimes strewn about but, to be fair, this was down to high spirited teenagers! Overall very good. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kayhhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The view is worth a lot. Yes you need to book a serviced pitched otherwise you will struggle to find a level spot. Yes the loo block is not brand new - but it all worked, with plenty of hot water and was regularly cleaned (OK not perfect but not bad).
The onsite shop is good value for money, well stocked and had the best eggs we have ever found!
The only concern was the lack of a main gate to the site made it a bit too accessible!

Room Tip: Get a serviced pitch away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
1.5 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
488 reviews
8.7 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhale Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhale Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Penhale Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Penhale Farm, Fowey PL23 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Penhale Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Penhale is the closest caravan & camping park to Fowey. Consisting of 10 holiday homes and 56 touring pitches this small, family run park offers relaxation in pleasant surroundings with no overcrowding. Penhale has a 4 star and Tourist Board rating along with a bronze Conversation Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Penhale Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhale Caravan And Camping Park Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing