We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views & perfect location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penhale Caravan and Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penhale Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views & perfect location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at Penhale, 3 more than we had planned for!!! The campsite is a 20 min walk to Polkerris beach which is beautiful with great facilities, a nice pub, cafe, shop & Sam's on the beach restaurant is not to be missed! The 525 bus stops right outside the campsite & goes to Mevagissy, Gorran Haven, Gardens of Heligan, Charlestown (all worth a visit) & is only a 5 min journey into the beautiful
Fowey. Fowey has many great restaurants, cafes & pubs to choose from & lots of shops to enjoy. There are regular ferry's from Fowey to Mevagissy & Polrun making Fowey an ideal base to explore the area. The campsite is peaceful with amazing views, the shower blocks are a little outdated but clean. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Curlywurlysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great park with nice clean toilets and showers. Wash up and clothes washing facilities available. Hot water. Lovely location and a great view of the sea. Friendly people. Nice and quiet campsite with electric and water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lymetreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely campsite beautiful views across the bay
However the toilet block is a disgrace
The showers in the main block are ancient and not very inviting and don't look too clean
Drain for shower is about an inch below the surface and looks dirty
Having found the main block being cleaned at 8.30 at night I tried the extra showers positioned at the side of the main block
4 in total 2 gave no hot water 1 was so dirty I didn't try it and the last one had a floor that was covered in dead flies and festooned with cobwebs
For 2 days one of the cubicles had no toilet paper and block seemed to be cleaned spasmodically
This really isn't good enough for a site charging this amount and the owners really need a wake up call to tell them that this is not acceptable at any price

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougLas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have not been camping in a tent for a few years. This site was a good reintroduction to the activity. Located outside of Fowey, it has distant views of the sea and is accessed by the A3082 - so be aware that traffic at night can be an occasional disturbance. Field 1 is where tents can be set up, but it does have a slight incline! The shower/toilet block was pretty decent and cleaned regularly. Free wi-fi was a pleasant surprise! There is a limited bus service to Fowey and St Austell. Glorious weather was a bonus for my stay. I intend to return sometime later in the year and organise a visit to the Eden Project which is a few miles away.

Room Tip: If camping the best place to pitch a tent is maybe at the bottom of the field - furthest away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend chose Penhale when planning a 4 night getaway to Cornwall. We booked, and received confirmation and, despite a few bad reviews of the toilet blocks, decided that all would be well as we were going off-peak.

On arrival the owner was friendly and welcoming, and the site was quiet. We were a bit disappointed to find just how steeply sloping the site was, and also that the grass could have done with a cut! The toilet block was pleasantly surprising - very clean, well equipped, and with plenty of toilets and showers - but then as I said it was a quiet week!

All was well until 8pm Tuesday when the site (along with the rest of Cornwall) was battered by strong winds and a pole in our tent snapped. Can't really blame the owners for this, but perhaps a note for the future would be to plant some trees as natural windbreaks across the site!

In summary, an ok site but quite hilly, and could do with more trees planting urgently!

Room Tip: Pick a serviced (electric hookup) site if you want the ground to be even vaguely flat, and avoid in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recneps86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We first stayed at Penhale in 2010...an introduction to the Camping World. And we love it! We've been back every year since and we can't fault it. If you're after an Entertainment Site and Luxury Facilities then no, this Site isn't for you but for us it's perfect! I do agree that maybe it's time to invest in a New Shower Block but by no means do the current ones put us off of returning.

The site is on the out-skirts of Fowey and easily accessible by car. It is with-in walking distance to the Village and Local beach which is ideal for Summer Evening Strolls. The Site itself is always lush and green and there are options of Electric Sites which have been marked out or Standard Pitches which is basically "Pitch Where You Fancy". The view from the Tent in the Mornings is simply breath-taking. For those who like the simple things in life I would definitley recommend this site!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Castle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just had a relaxing 8 days at Penhale. The site was almost empty so was very quiet just as we wanted - the road noise wasn't too bad. Glad we had a caravan so had a level pitch but wouldn't want to pitch a tent on very sloping field. The only moan (as most people seem to have)is that the showers leave a lot to be desired - even for a campsite. Not enough - too hot, can't be adjusted - not very clean (drain in one looked as if someone had washed a dog in it was filthy all week!). Gents ran out of loo paper. Really think some funds should be invested in improvements. Have been on many sites but the toilet block really let's this one down. Magnificent views though & great for visiting Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
1.5 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#2 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.6 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#4 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhale Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhale Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Penhale Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Penhale Farm, Fowey PL23 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Fowey
Hotel Class:4 star — Penhale Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Penhale is the closest caravan & camping park to Fowey. Consisting of 10 holiday homes and 56 touring pitches this small, family run park offers relaxation in pleasant surroundings with no overcrowding. Penhale has a 4 star and Tourist Board rating along with a bronze Conversation Award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penhale Caravan And Camping Park Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing