We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of The Well House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Well House
Ranked #1 of 26 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited The Well House in June 2012. We arrived by bus, which is only a 5 min walk away. The b&b is centrally located on the main street, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby (try Sam's restaurants opposite for great seafood!). The harbour is only a 5 min walk too. We stayed in the Tudor Room which was absolutely charming. It was like stepping back a few hundred years. The room has been decorated to keep its "old charm". The room is fairly big and was always kept clean. The only slight problem we had was that we could hear the sea gulls at night and early in the morning, which made it a little difficult to sleep, but we soon got used to it. The breakfast was served in the cute little tea room downstairs, and we always left feeling full. They serve fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice, toast and Full English breakfast (which was yummy!). You can even have cream tea there during the day. The hosts made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masadventure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our B&B, and apologies for the delayed response. You may be interested to know that the seagull almost disappear in September and don't come back in any great numbers until January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We didn't really search hard for accomodation in Fowey, The Well House somewhat popped up and we took a chance! The first night we were really put off by the noise from the sea gulls, but this charming smalltown along with nice hosts and a beautiful room (The Tudor Room) made up for the gulls - who seemed to calm down eventually. Or maybe we just got used to them! Fowey is absolutely charming and The Well House is to be found in the midst of it! Recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our B&B. Apologies for the delay in responding to you. Thank you also for the photos you emailed to us soon after your departure. You may be interested to know that the seagulls disappear in September after the chicks have flown the nest. The come back in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbot, australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We returned to the Well House where we had a fantastic stay with Lesley in 2010, at the time I wrote a review and said we hoped to return in 2012 well we did. We were warmly welcomed by new owners Paula, Tim and Hayley. We love Fowey and the Well House last time and hoped that we would love it again as much - we didn't think we could love it more. We were wrong, we felt just as at home as last time and did love it more. Our room was the same family room and was spacious and well fitted out, good windows to let in the sea air. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were again very good and plentiful with fantastic and friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Only downside with Fowey is the parking but everyone is in the same boat there. Good luck Tim and Paula with living and running The Well House. We will return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you had a safe journey home, and we hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Once we'd found a parking spot (never easy in Fowey!), this gorgeous B&B/tea room was in a great location, right on the main street but far enough away from any of the pubs that can be a bit noisy at night.

The room was impressive (we had the tudor room with four poster bed), with really charming features due to the age of the building - wooden beams, creaky floors, wood paneling... the works. The loo is a bit noisy but I don't think this can be helped (I suspect there are laws about plumbing in buildings this old!).

The new owners are so sweet and friendly, and couldn't do enough for us to make us feel welcomed. The breakfast was gorgeous.

Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Owner at The Well House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our B&B, and the Tudor room in particular. Sorry it has taken so long to respond. When you visited us Paula and I had just taken over. Hard to believe we are now into our second season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very charming and clean B&B with original features and plenty of space, welcoming and helpful host, lovely breakfast! Great location on Fowey's main street too, excellent! As with many of the towns/villages in this region, no parking but owner very kindly sold a temporary permit for car park 5 minutes up the road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights this summer, and enjoyed it immensely. The breakfast in particular was delightful - lots of berries etc. The house is sooooo delightfully old, from when people were a lot shorter than today, so I must have hit my head ten times before it sank in to keep it down. I would highly recommend it. Right in town, with good restaurants (Tiffins) across the road. Great walks. Lanhydrock is also a must see National Trust manor nearby (10kms). Ear plugs useful to protect against the calls of the gulls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GongDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbot, australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

we stayed at the Well House in 2010 on a trip around the Uk and it was the best accom we had in the whole month we were away. The age of the place was mindblowing (comming from Australia it was amazing to be in such an old building). Unfortunately we could only stay a few nights due to our timetable but would have extended our stay if we could. Breakfast was exceptional as was all of the info of the local area. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and lovely. we are hopefully heading back to Fowey in 2012 and hope to stay again at the well house.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#3 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#7 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Well House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Well House

Property: The Well House
Address: 31-33 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Well House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Well House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing