We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dwelling House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Fowey
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fowey Hall(Fowey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
69
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomsconescream teawell worth a visita real gemhigh teateresatearoomgooseberryrayburnmoist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and stayed at the Dwelling House last week and had a fantastic stay. Teresa and Adam made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. The breakfasts were the best we've had (and we've stayed in some very expensive hotels!) - great variety and quality of food and amazing choice of real teas and coffees. Not only is the B&B great accomodation, the tea room is equally good - we enjoyed both the cakes, scones and savory dishes. If you're looking for great B&B or tea room in the Fowey area look no further! We are looking forward to staying at the Dwelling House again in the spring!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited Fowey towards the end of a fairly arduous walk, but on one of those glorious early summer days that make you glad to be alive, and rewarded us with fantastic views over Lantic Bay. To stumble across this gem of a place was the icing on the cake. Courteous service, charming crockery, the smell of the scones baking, the quirky till, and the most fantastic cream tea in the courtyard garden - complete with gooseberry jam!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PrimaDawna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visiting Cornwall it is imperative that one orders at some point during the stay, crab sandwiches and a Cornish cream tea (on separate occasions naturally). I have 40 years of experience of holidays in Cornwall and can say, without reservation, that there are no finer crab sandwiches than those served at The Dwelling House nor is there a more delicious home made scone, jam and clotted cream tea. You will not be disappointed. If the weather is fine then opt for the small courtyard garden and sit under trailing foliage - another memorable experience. If you want to go for the jackpot then head upstairs to the loo - the surprise there is really worth the visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A great find went with a friend for her birthday we wanted a seat outside so sat inside untill table was ready we had cream tea it was lovely great place want to go back it's was lovely have recomemed to lots of people

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visit Fowey twice a year and make sure a visit to the Dwelling house is always on the itinerary.
Excellent service, quality food made to a high standard using local ingredients where possible. and not overpriced... need i say more. Glad it is so far away or my waist line would be expanding at a alarming rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews