We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, but a bit expensive”
Review of The Dwelling House

The Dwelling House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dwelling House
Ranked #9 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Plymouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is nothing to fault with this quaint b and b in the backstreets of Fowey. I visited with my aunt and her boyfriend, and my parents, we had drinks and a small snack, but it came to £25, but it was top quality, you could see it being made in front of you. Also, it is a bit small, so you have to be fast or you will be waiting in a corridor for a short while...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

another quick head up for the dwelling house. Everything I wrote in October 2011 still applies, quirky, charming B and B. Great breakfast, great tea room. This time we were suposed to stay for four nights. After one night we both got a bug and felt rubbish which really spoilt our stay. What I would like to say is a big thanks to Adam and Teresa. Because we felt rubbish we left a day early. Not only did they not charge us for one night we had booked, meaning they lost a nights revenue, they also knocked some more money off because we had eaten small breakfasts. They also made us a sandwich each for our long drive home. Lovely people, lovely place. Go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Dwelling House was reomended to me by a friend who said it was excellent, having only two dates available during the summer was an insight into its poularity, and well worth a visit. Well Pat and i went in mid August and it was a fantastiv experiance. Adam could not have made us mor welcome and the room, well, it is unique and full of charm. As has been mentioned in othe reviews was ecxcellent, so much so I've not stopped eating melon since!!!! As for the cream teas, they are a meal on their own. The staf their are pleasant and well mannared, plus they work their socks off. Definately go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a very nice lunch at The Dwelling House while in Fowey for the afternoon, having found it highly recommended online. The sandwiches and quiche we ordered were delicious, tea for 2 was in an amply-sized pot, and our cake afterward was scrumptious - all served with a friendly smile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I admit I was swayed by the decor on booking, but everything else matched up to its charm. Adam and Teresa are wonderful people: charming, interesting, and incredibly generous. The breakfasts are a three-course wonder in themselves, and the complimentary cream tea was, without doubt, the best I have had. And I'm a Cornish girl living in Bath, so I admit I have had a few. Fab location too. All the bustle of the centre of town, but shutters block out any noise at night. Bed is incredibly soft, but even so, I slept well. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonadsbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Tearoom is exceptional, all home baked cakes, gluten free is available, the breakfast is a must, service is second to none, dogs allowed in one area...it couldn't be better. They made our holiday, it was wonderful, a step back in time as it is all based around the 50's and very well done too and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Highly recommended. We stayed there for three nights in February. Adam & Theresa, the owners, were exceptionally helpful and considerate and provided a first class breakfast. We especially enjoyed making friends with George, the cat, and the roll top bath in the bedroom is an unusual and appealing feature. The Dwelling House is right in the centre of Fowey, near the Quay and has four pubs within a stone's throw. What more could you ask for? The only drawback is the parking arrangements, which need to be investigated before you travel. But this would apply to anywhere you stayed in Fowey.

Room Tip: Only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 25 in Fowey
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwelling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwelling House

Property: The Dwelling House
Address: 6 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dwelling House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Dwelling House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing