We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, lovely little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dwelling House

The Dwelling House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dwelling House
Ranked #11 of 27 Fowey B&B and Inns
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant, lovely little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Dwelling House is fantastic, the owners are lovely hospitable people. We enjoyed wonderful tea and cakes and the breakfast was fantastic. The room is lovely, complete with every luxury - L'occitane products and a claw foot bath for unwinding after a day exploring. The location couldn't be more central, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

This was definitely the best b&b we have ever stayed in. Gorgeous room, outstanding breakfast. Wonderful tearooms - proper home-made cakes and brilliant lunches too. Extremely welcoming owners. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Happened upon this place and decided to go in for a cream tea. Wise decision. The atmosphere was cosy and friendly. Service was excellent and the cream tea was delicious; home baked and locally sourced. If you want a tasty, old fashioned cream tea you've found the right place.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We found The Dwelling House via TripAdvisor and booked to stay for two nights. It was our first visit to Fowey, and we found that The Dwelling House was an ideal location, right in the centre of the town. Parking is an issue in the area, but you can park nearby to drop your bags off and then move your car to a place 10-15 mins walk away, either through the town or up the hill. I found the car park at the top of the hill easier to find (the streets in the town are very tight) but it is a steep hill!

Inside The Dwelling House, you will find Adam & Teresa, who run both the tea rooms and the B&B. They are both very welcoming and helped us with all of the arrangements. The building has been tastefully refurbished and you will find all of the fixtures and furnishings to be of a very high standard. The cakes from the tea rooms are just amazing, as is the breakfast - very full and hearty, but with a really high standard of ingredients. One of the best that we had in any hotel or B&B.

During our trip, my partner was unwell and Adam & Teresa were wonderfully supportive, providing drinks and food to help. It was really appreciated by both of us. In the end, we left for home earlier than planned but we were sad not to be staying longer to explore the area. However, we hope to return again and experience their hospitality once more.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Having eaten often at The Dwelling House on previous trips, we booked ourselves a three-night stay in October 2010. We knew the food would be excellent, and indeed it was. The breakfasts were superb, with a choice of hot dishes to add to the fresh fruit and cereal and finest leaf teas or coffee (toast and great jams etc.).

The room was very nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, and lovely linen, and toiletries, also the tea and coffee facilities had fresh milk. We were made to feel really welcome, like staying with friends, a great location in the centre of Fowey in a very attractive listed building.

Just go!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed for a long weekend and had a fantastic stay. The use of local produce and emphasis on home made food made every breakfast deliciously moreish, and lunch quickly became irrelevant, which was fortunate, otherwise nwe would have not had the need to try the delicious cream teas that are also served. I can't imagnie staying anywhere else in Fowey now I've been to the Dwelling House!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_TedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We only came to the Dwelling House for tea one afternoon, but it was the best "high tea" as they call I've had (and I have had a LOT of afternoon teas). Lovely food - real crusty bread, whole ingredients and homemade cakes - no packeted or processed food in sight. Really good scones, and just generally wonderful. Very good service. Tea here is an essential part of a visit to Fowey.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 27 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#3 of 27 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#4 of 27 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 27 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwelling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwelling House

Property: The Dwelling House
Address: 6 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dwelling House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Dwelling House Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing