We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical nandos”
Review of Nando's

Nando's
Ranked #77 of 268 Restaurants in Gateshead
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Typical nandos”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went here when shopping with my mam on a busy Saturday. We hit at the lunchtime rush but only had to wait a couple of minutes for a table. Even though the restaurant was busy, we didn't wait much longer than normal for our food. Food was a good as ever and the service was also good. Restaurant was very clean even with the rush. Will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l0rnaw93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    60
    33
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Place to dine with family or friends”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Compared to the Nandos at Qube and Gate/Monument, Nandos in metro centre(next to TK Max) is the best in terms of quality, taste, service and ambience. Been going there for the past few years since it was started and its delicious, succulent and well done tasty chicken as always. ( I am sure this is the only outlet at which chickens are marinated for 24 hours as claimed) Halloumi cheese and Houmous with PERi-PERi Drizzle is awesome and have been ordering it everytime I visit. Great service, best chain restaurant in metro centre. On less star cos I feel its slightly expensive and mostly there is waiting time due to the crowd. But def. visit it everytime I go to Metro Centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Typical Nando's”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not a great deal to be said really as this was your typical Nando's experience.

Turned up looking for a table for two without a booking on a busy weeknight yet was quickly accommodated with no hassle at all.

Food was to the standard expected as was the service. Restaurant looked clean and the food was ready quickly. A pleasant overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northernglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good spicy food but poor value”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Havent been to a Nandos for some time so thought we'd give it a go at the Metro Centre. The food is good, particularly, if like me, you like piri piri sauce. We had a quarter chicken, fries, rice and corn cob. Quality good. The front of house guy tried his best to get us a table in the nicer part of the restaurant. After a wait of ten minutes we got an ok table and ordered food which took 25 minutes to arrive, of which we were pre warned of delay when ordering. The only gripe was value for money. It was a very small portion: pretty meagre chicken portion and a Macdonalds style fries portion for £7.20. Not good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bamb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Below average food and venue”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went as a group of eight for an informal anniversary get together. The floor around the large booth table we were offered was littered with debris from the previous diners and the table felt sticky, although this was dealt with by the staff promptly.

Food: You don't go to Nando's expecting haute cuisine, but the chicken should be...well, the best chicken ever, given that this is its speciality (but sadly it's not). I ordered the mushroom and halloumi wrap, and although it was tasty it was over priced.

This is the second Nando's I have visited where I have had to ask for the table area to be cleaned. This is unacceptable and I will not be returning to (any) Nando's in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing