We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food”
Review of Eslington Villa

Eslington Villa
Ranked #2 of 283 Restaurants in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a meal at the Eslington on Friday and the service and food were exceptional. Love this hotel, we have had some fantastic family celebrations here over the years and it is still one of the best places to eat in Gateshead. We were celebrating an 80th birthday and the staff were just lovely. Coming back in April for my 60th birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zac017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Owner at Eslington Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks for giving us such a fantastic review, i'm pleased everything went so well on such a special occasion. We look forward to seeing you on your 60th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 513 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ate Sunday Lunch here as I'm afraid I was not impressed. Although the Starters where very nice the main course left much to be desired. My son had roast chicken breast which was over cooked and dry, we ate at 1.30pm so I would have thought by the time they stopped serving at 9pm it would have been worse still. Yorkshire Puddings were pre-cooked and cold. We were presented with a bowl of mixed veg for the 4 adults and the roast potatoes again where pre-heated and dry. I did mention this feedback when paying the bill although no discount or alternative was offered. We didn't bother with a dessert. I thought for the price this meal was very poor and I was expecting better. Will not be returning anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Owner at Eslington Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm not sure what went wrong with your Sunday Lunch main course ,it is extremely popular and normally we only get very positive comments. I have checked with the staff who were on duty on that particular Sunday and as is our policy they did come back to the table to see if everything was ok during and at the end of your starters and main course but as nothing was mentioned by anyone on your table then we assumed everybody was happy. If something had been said at the time then we would have obviously been able to change things for you and given us the opportunity to put things right. A manager did come to see you at the time of paying the bill to discuss your complaint but unfortunately you had already left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We try to go the Eslington Villa at least two or three times a year and it never fails to impress however last night was exceptional from the warmth of welcome to the attentiveness of the staff not to mention of course the brilliant food which was an absolute taste sensation
Can't thank Thierry and his staff enough for making our night so special

Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Owner at Eslington Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks again for yet another great review, it really is appreciated. I will pass on your kind comments to Thierry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The food was lovely, did wait quite a while though but we didn't mind, but the staff were very rude payed no attention to us what so ever! it was not like it was that busy either. lovely location and atmosphere was good hopefully the staff will be pay abit more attention to us next time!! That did spoil our afternoon but luckily the food made up for it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovefoodxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Owner at Eslington Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have tried to contact you via this website to find out when you visited so i can investigate your problems with the service but have not had a reply, perhaps you could email me on home@eslingtonvilla.co.uk . I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal and the surroundings and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have had 3 meals at the Eslington in the last month and enjoyed them all. The staff are friendly and helpful seeming to enjoy a little conversation also. I do find however that some meals can be a little sparse compared with others, particularly the fish dishes but still enjoyable.
The front door though needs to be repaired, on one of our visits it was very windy and the door seemed to spend more time open than closed!
Chris W.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, Owner at Eslington Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks for the review i'm pleased that as a regular customer you have enjoyed your recent visits and look forward to seeing you again. Apologies for the door, it has now been repaired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eslington Villa also viewed

Wylam, Northumberland
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Eslington Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing