We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night stay on the way to Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for one night stay on the way to Scotland”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times before when visiting relatives in Newcastle. It's true that the hotel is looking a bit jaded now and could do with a facelift, but the rooms are fine, spacious and comfortable and we paid just £25 on booking.com, so can't complain! The so-called restaurant next door is really grim and we only ate there because it was late and we were too tired after a long drive to go further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel...there is some traffic noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningdiner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    193
    84
    28
    34
See reviews for
206
182
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed recently during the bad weather.
Receptionist on arrival was very welcoming and friendly.
Room very large room, a double bed with two single beds for the kids. All beds very comfortable.
We only paid £19 for the room and we will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank millie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is old and jaded, the staff do try but the heating didn't work right , bathroom noisy and toilet didn't flush without a fight the shower was great till the water went cold . The next door restaurant is equal to butlins food quality on a bank holiday weekend .

The stay was uncomfortable. Food awfull, and breakfast a comedy ..

I stay in lots of these hotels due to work but never again ....will use the other ones

Room Tip: Use another hotel or sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com & we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kelly Latham
Social Media Executive
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 13th January 2013 very quiet clean and comfy beds! Payed £29 a night for two and was best value for money I any hotel in Newcastle a second walk to metro centre and tgi Fridays KFC frankie and bennies all withing walking distance just perfect

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

2 night stay in January. Met by very friendly receptionist who booked me in efficiently and without fuss. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Slight smear on bathroom mirror but otherwise perfectly acceptable. Very comfortable bed.
Restaurant was great value with a good variety of food. No Michelin stars but no need for imodium either! A good choice if you do not want to hang around or are looking for a bargain, but I would go elsewhere if I wanted a nice relaxed meal with friends or family.
Would definitely go back to this "lodge" but I wonder if preminn were slow to read the signals about pricing. Would not consider paying the full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Easy to find, accidently walked through the restaurant to get to the hotel. Signage not the best. Very friendly reception, I did check about my evening meal allowance arranged by my travel agent. She said the restaurant had the all the details. I dropped off my stuff and went straight to the restaurant. of course there was issues but the receptionist couldn't have been nicer. Got sitting down then started the consumption . It was all good selection and very tasty food.
Back to room to relax, i fell asleep after 15 mins, that shows how good it is. Will stay there again , prefer it to the Holiday Inn exp nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niviksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on 2nd January 2013 - everyone was very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us. We had 3 breakfasts and 2 dinners at Taybarns and again staff were all excellent and so was the food, had seen some mixed comments about the food but can only say it was exceptional - will be happy to book again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
709 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing