We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stay with premier inn - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first stay with premier inn - excellent”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

we stayed with premier inn metro centre last weekend as we were in newcastle for a concert at the arena. the staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful and the bedrooms very clean. well done!! we stayed at a travelodge in manchester last october which was ok but we wouldnt return. i'd definitely book again with premier inn however!

just have two criticisms on this one - we are a same sex couple and travelled with my partners sister. i had booked both rooms under my name however we were asked to confirm who would stay in which room. i found this a little uncomfortable as the details had to be repeated and were repeated again. i think the receptionist was new so i said nothing about it. also we asked for an iron and ironing board - the ironing board was obviously damaged and very unstable. please invest in some new ironing boards!!!

otherwise excellent!! thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr4nt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    190
    83
    28
    34
See reviews for
201
180
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was the first time I'd stayed at a Premier Inn. For service, friendliness, comfort, location (for Metro center and Hadrian's wall excursions or use bus to newcastle from a short walk away from the hotel) one would find difficulty in finding similar for the prce paid. One of the friendlisest and most helpful, welcoming arrivals I have experienced at a check in. The room was wonderfully clean, comfortable and well proportioned. The matress was good and not too soft as found in other budget chain hotels. Cleaning was discreet and to a high standard. If you run out of complimentary tea and coffee in the room, no problem. just pop downstairs for more. Parking just outside although entrance to hotel and car park was a bit difficult to find. breakfast was nice. Bath and shower both present. Noise from corridor doors ok although a few doors could be seen to to help residents sleep better. Would definitely go back to Premier Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed one overnight on way to Northumberland from Leeds. Arrived early than normal checking in time. Staff could not have been more helpful. (Why cant we give more than 5 stars)

Room Tip: Go to Premier Inn. Book early enough and you could get it for £29.00 per night per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife UK
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The room was clean and cozy the staff could not do enough for me because i am disabled.
It was handy haveing the Taybarns restaurant next door.
I was not sure if i should stay with you because we had a rotten meal on my birthday in DUNDEE and when i complained i got no where after spoiling my meal they offered me a drink on the house big deal.
But i did enjoy my stay in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moogiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great value, very clean room and very friendly staff. The 2 ladies on reception couldn't have been more helpful and were very welcoming. Hotel itself was very clean and looked fresh inside. Ideally situated for visiting the Metro Centre as it's only a few minutes by car and has the restaurant next door (though we didn't use this).

Only complaint was that the room was too warm and we couldn't get the temperature to go down so had to keep the window open all night - not a bad complaint in November! Also I found the mattress quite uncomfortable but this could just be personal preference. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaloScotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I oftern stay here through work. tonight unfortunatly i forgot to bring some bits with me, Suzanne on reception was brilliant and helped me out with the bit i needed
cant ask for better service than that all the staff here are kind and helpful with lovely rooms and they always put your needs first!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diz_w0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay here & were pleasantly surprised with the Premier Inn Metro Centre. The trip was a last minute decision & having tried to booked other hotels that we have stayed in the past (Hilton / Radisson), which were fully booked we opted for this hotel.

Location is ideal for metro centre shopping & there are plenty of places to eat within a five minute drive. Newcastle City Centre is also easily accessible by bus or train. We parked at the metro centre & hopped on the train to Newcastle then returned & spent the afternoon at the Metro Centre. Taxis at night into town cost approx £12.

We had a family room on the ground floor which was very spacious, clean, modern & well equipped - shower & bath, tea coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, large comfy bed - much more than I was expecting for the price. We also found the hotel to be very quiet despite being situated near a busy road & pub. Staff were very friendly and check in very efficient.

Breakfast at the Taybarns next door to the hotel was also very good value for money.

We will definately stay here again when visiting the area - much better value for money than the bigger hotel chains nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligaz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
3.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing