We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only my second time in a premier inn and I was very impressed! I was in the area for social reasons and it was very well placed so I could get to my friends houses very quickly and the staff were very helpful especially when I needed a 24 hour supermarket and their local knowledge was impeccable!
Overall if I was to return to Newcastle upon Tyne this is where I would stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 820 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I work for a Premier Inn and so I know what to expect from them - clean rooms, friendly staff and a good nights sleep! This Premier Inn was no different and I had a great stay.

The staff were very friendly on arrival and when we were in the bar and restaurant. Check in was quick and easy and our rooms were on the top floor (giving us lovely views!) which can be reached using one of the 2 lifts.

A few reviews have said that car parking is not that good but I would say it was good, there are loads of spaced and it is free parking, however, some of the parking areas are restricted to 2 hour stays but these are very clear and just make sure you avoid parking there!

The location is excellent for Newcastle city centre and it is about a 10/15 minute drive away which will cost from £8-£11 in a taxi. In the area there is a few shops including a greggs, O'briens and a newsagents.

We stayed on a Saturday night and there was a little bit of noise but nothing excessive and we managed to get to sleep quickly.

If you are visiting Newcastle this is a very convienent and good place to stay, highly reccommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of Premier Inns newest hotels. Good accomodation which is excelled by the helpfulness of the staff. Great welcome and great asisstance with any need. Building wise not best planned, just one small lift, parking is cramped but not insurmountable. Rooms are a good size and predicatable but then that is what Premier Inn is, as with all the other main brands from McDonalds to Wetherspoons.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is modern and clean.Our bedroom was spacious and well equipped. It had a shower room with large shower and a modern sink next to it in the bedroom. We did find the bathroom door hard to open and close as it had no handle.
We enjoyed dining in the restaurant which had attentive staff.We had the meal deal for dinner and breakfast and thought this was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is well off the beaten track. It was certainly quiet outside, but inside on one of the 2 nights we stayed we encountered a very - how can I put it? - exuberant party making lots of noise in our corridor. At 5 in the morning some of these returned to their rooms while trying to stifle their loud laughter. One of them noisily made an attempt to enter our room. Mistakenly, no doubt. We reported the incident and the receptionist apologised, shrugging her shoulders.
The bed and bathroom were fine, but the TV, although flat screen, was miniscule and the maximum sound level very low.
We were very disappointed to be told that we could not have the continental breakfast we requested, despite it being promoted in the hotel information in our room. Apparently this particular Premier Inn only provides an English cooked breakfast or a croissant with coffee. There is, however, a daytime cafe two minutes walk from the hotel, open from 7am, which serves a whole range of breakfasts at very reasonable prices.
We do not intend to return to this hotel when we visit Newcastle-Gateshead again. We'll try another Premier Inn which is more conveniently situated and actually offers what Premier Inns promise in their various promotions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raoul188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel shares a car park with several other businesses, and there are some restrictions as to where hotel guests may park (check with reception staff, or see a notice near the front desk).

My biggest complaint is that this Premier Inn does not offer separate continental breakfast (I've experienced this at several of their hotels recently). You are of course welcome to pay £8.25 (the cooked breakfast rate) and only eat the continental - which just seems like a rip off to me. I very rarely eat cooked breakfast anyway, and as a vegetarian, I wouldn't be eating sausages and bacon in any case. Premier Inn don't even warn you about this on their website, so you don't find out until you check in. This particular hotel has an O'Brien's and a Greggs about 1 minute walk away (in the same retail park), both of which offer cheap breakfast options.

Another gripe about Premier Inns is their policy of only supplying one hand towel between two people. What's next - only one bath towel? They will give you another hand towel, but you have to go and ask for it.

Our room was big, but poorly designed as far as the layout went. The bathroom (i.e. toilet and shower) was separated from the main part of the room by a sliding door, with the sink separate in the room. There was minimal room to place toiletries. The room was very dimly lit, and the windows were draughty (you could hear the wind coming through a gap, and see it move the curtain).

We could hear traffic noise throughout the night, despite being on the fourth floor. The main entrance to the hotel was a narrow revolving door, which would be difficult to get through with a large suitcase, or even several small bags.

The staff we encountered were all very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Probably the most helpful friendliest staff you will come across. They really go out of there way and are really helpful. The hotel is a little out of town but taxi's are really cheap. I do think the hotel is a little pricey and this is the only reason I would stay somewhere else next time. Im not picky and dont mind hostels but if ya wanting a proper hotel then a definate recomendation from me :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydoo221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
2.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.7 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley

Address: Maingate Kingsway North | Team Valley, Gateshead NE11 0BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $59 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right beside the Team Valley Trading Estate and a short hop straight into the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Team Valley) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tulip Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Team Valley Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing