We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super Helpful”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Often stay here as convenient for visiting family. This time had additional family with us which included someone who has a strict gluten free diet. The staff could not have been more helpful. A separate menu is available for gluten free as well as the option to take your own bread etc and they will keep for you in the kitchen. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Requests for additional pillows was not an issue as well as requests for extra milk, tea, coffee to our rooms. Reception staff always acknowledge you as you come and go with a welcoming smile and explain very clearly at check in guide for your stay. Although this is 10 mins from main city centre an ideal base as it includes free parking which many of the hotels in the hub of city do not offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a standard level that does not deviate due to price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    214
    78
    31
    12
See reviews for
235
201
29
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night while visiting gateshead athletics stadium. Ten minutes away from our venue, room large, booked a double but our room had two double beds in, good hot shower, clean, comfy beds, flat screen tv, quiet. Was bothered there would be hen and stag dos but it was very quiet. Had a meal in the hotel very good but I think service could have been a little better, had to wait ages after sitting down to be offered a drink which I found a little strange. Thats the first thing I would expect whilst browsing the menu. Anyway apart from that I would stay here again if we have anymore events. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cant comment on that, we found a cafe near the stadium J J's kitchen saltmeadows road £4.50 full english, toast and tea, exxcellent would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for a week from the 14th July - first time that we were in Newcastle (husband, daughter and myself). Our flight was in late - so we were advised to get a taxi to the hotel- this cost 22pounds which I thought was a bit expensive. To others who may not know the area and are relying on public transport - the metro will take you from the airport to Gateshead station and then you can get the 94, 96 or 97 bus from there to right outside the hotel. Much cheaper and not too long a journey either. We returned to the airport this way! Would advise anyone using public transport to purchase a travel card as you definitely rely on the bus services to go anywhere outside the hotel. Services are very regular and easy to get use to. People are very friendly and helpful - so you are never stuck.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, bed and pillows were comfortable. No bath - but spacious shower with seating area and plenty of hot water. Sink was located in the bedroom. Sliding door leading in to bathroom - this was difficult to slide open and closed.

We only had breakfast on one morning. The main reason for this was that this hotel only offers the full buffet breakfast at 8.25 pounds - i enjoyed the breakfast but would not eat that everyday - would have preferred a continental breakfast. Children under 16 do eat free breakfast when accompanying an adult. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening time. There are some shops close to the hotel - O'Briens and Greggs coffee shops and a newsagent and also the fx leisure place which offers beauty treatments at good rates (if you want to spoil yourself)!

Only one issue that we had was the volume of the TV was capped at 15 - it was very difficult to hear without any noise at all in the room. We did make a complaint about this - and although it was not resolved for our stay - we understand that it was in the process of getting resolved when we were leaving. So we felt that we had been listened to also. Overall a very enjoyable stay - even though we were not lucky enough to have paid only 29 pounds per night ....if only!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed Sunday 15th July first time my husband an i have stayed at this hotel and it definately will not be the last
We paid £29 for a saver room and the quality of the room was excellent.
Receptionist was extreemly helpful as was the young girl at the bar.
Did not eat in the restaurant so cannot make any comment on that
Would certainly reccommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Premier Inn Team Valley. The accommodation was very good. However my experience in the restaurant was not up to expectations. I and three other colleagues stayed on a Friday night and took advantage of the Meal Deal. We took our seats at the table which we had booked earlier to be told there was no Steak or Fish available. (this was at 8pm). The starters was served and we waited for approximately 1 hour before the main meals arrived. At the time of taking our order the waiter explained that the Profiteroles were not available from the sweet menu. On completion of the main course the waiter again came to us to tell us that the Cheesecake that was chosen instead of Profiteroles was also unavailable. It would have been easier if we were told what was available as it seems they didn't have anything in the kitchen at the start of a busy weekend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but be assured that the incident will be investigated to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Premier Inn Team Valley a couple of times. Our most recent visit was last week. We paid £29 for a Family room - excellent value! We have found it to be a great place to stop off when travelling south. The reception is modern and pleasant and nicer than the average Premier Inn. The staff were friendly and reminded us to contact them if we had any problems or queries. The hotel is popular with Hen/Stag Parties but the staff seem to handle this well and they take it seriously if people are too noisy and disturb others. It was busy when we were there and I was a bit worried we would be woken by other guests returning from their nights out but we didn't hear a thing. The hotel is on 7 floors. The rooms are nice, just the usual you would expect from a Premier Inn. One point to mention is the rooms don't have a bath they have nice spacious showers in the ensuite instead. Some people may find this a problem but in our case we were happier with the shower. The hotel is located in a business park and there are some small shops/cafes including O'Briens, Greggs and a newsagents in a row beside the hotel. (Handy for a snack or if you don't want to have breakfast at the hotel) There is lots of free parking. The hotel is close to Team Valley Retail World, a large retail park and it is also a short drive from all the restaurants and shops at the Metro Centre. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look out for special prices on Premier Inn Website - We got a Sunday night for £29!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have stayed in many hotels in the North East and will always stay here if I can get the deal (can be popular on football weekends and for stags and hens). Don't be put off by the stags and hens comments, you don't really see them till Sunday moring and by then they are quiet and subdued. Rooms warm and comfortable, always had a good nights sleep, staff very friendly, restaurant varies from ok to great (chef dependant). Don't expect great scenery and romantic walks...You're on Team Valley retail park and industrial estate Gateshead!! Get a cab (cheap and quick to arrive) or drive out and about, loads to see and do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harv1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
2.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Address: Maingate Kingsway North | Team Valley, Gateshead NE11 0BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right beside the Team Valley Trading Estate and a short hop straight into the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Team Valley) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tulip Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Team Valley Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing