We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed for the weekend in the Hilton and was expecting much more than we got. Rooms are large but the air conditioning is so loud it makes it difficult to sleep and the room is like an oven without the air-con. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but we ordered food twice and each time it was a disappointment. The club sandwich had a 'cold room' taste to it and the hilton 'classic' burger was like rubber and was not a good piece of meat to begin with. There is little or nothing nearby to eat so a taxi into Newcastle is required though it is only about a 10 minute walk away. Anonymous and bland overall and not a memorable experience

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mary062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,025 - 3,031 of 3,143 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed here in July and had 2 rooms. One was handicapt accessible and really very well equipped.

We enjoyed the view from the restaurant and bar of the bridges. Food was pricey but tasty and well presented.

The big plus is that the air conditioning actually worked and was in the bedrooms - unlike several other hotels that advertised air conditioning but only had it in the open space and meeting rooms.

Staff was helpful and accomodating - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelhobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This is a great hotel with a fantastic location that overlooks the Tyne.

Booked with expedia and between them and the hotel they managed to mess the reservation up.

Room was clean, comfortbale and spacious - no complaints there.

Had dinner in the Hotel that night, service was good, menu was limited and prices at the bar were very high.

Portions at the restuarant was not good and I clearly got a dish that had been re-heated rather then freshly cooked - disapointing given steak meal was almost £30 - stay there but see if you can find some where else to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank OadbyAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We just stayed over one night in this hotel, but were very impressed with the grand marbled lobby, complete with fountain! Our standard double room overlooked the Tyne, and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay, especially a really good shower and a comfortable bed with plenty of pillows! Tea, coffee and minibar were well stocked for those in need. The evening restaurant was busy so service was perhaps a bit slow, but when served, the food was excellent. At breakfast, again due to a busy restaurant we had to eat in the lobby at coffee tables which was not ideal, but the food itself could not be faulted. We felt overall that this hotel more than met our expectations of Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leedsnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I use this hotel for business trips once every three months.

The executive rooms really are lovely, bright, modern and funky. The hotel itself is airy, clean and the customer service level is exceptionally high.

The biggest problem for me is that it serves the worst Hilton breakfast in the whole country, it's consistently dreadful. Cheap sausages,. overcooked bacon, no haggis(most other Hilton hotels in the UK serve it), tasteless scrambled egg, fried eggs served in a pool of oil. There is a limited selection of cereals and a very poor fruit offering. If you've got the time or inclination to stand by the automatic toaster it takes three times to get any colour on your toast. The coffee is hideous also, have a cup of tea instead is my advice or even ask for a cup of instant if you want to have anything that at least smells and tastes of coffee.

Will I be back? Yes, because the conference facilities are excellent, the customer service level is high and the rooms have pretty ghood bathrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Daxidoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

This was our second time of staying at this hotel and it was equally as good as when we stayed there the first time. Check in was over within minutes and an upgrade to an Executive Floor room was already given before we asked. This allows the use of the Executive Lounge where guests can take Continental Breakfast in the morning and also have free drinks and snacks between 6.00pm and 8.30pm in the early evening. Our room was south facing this time and did not offer much of a view. The north facing rooms have great views across the Tyne to Newcastle. However the rest of the room was exactly the same and was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel is in an ideal location for the Quayside where an abundance of bars and restaurants can be found. It is only a 15 minute walk to Newcastle city centre where there are lots of shops and pedestrian free streets.

Our package included dinner in the restaurant on the first night of our stay and breakfast both mornings. The dining room is very modern and offers nice views of the bridges and across the river. Staff were very friendly. Dinner was a 3 course Table D'hote menu and not the Carvery as found at some of the other Hilton Hotels. This we prefer and the choices were varied and very tasty. Breakfast is of a buffet style and the times are fantastic if you enjoy a long lie in the morning. On Saturday they stop service at 11.00am and on Sunday it is extended until noon. Everything at the breakfast buffet was changed regularly and was nice and hot.

Highly recommend this hotel and we will be back again at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Gateshead for one Saturday night in May. We were visiting primarily to go to a concert at the Metro Radio Arena.

The hotel itself is pretty big as you will see from many of the photos with an underground car park for those arriving by car. It has a large lobby with panoramic windows overlooking the Tyne and a couple of the bridges.

We were staying on a room only basis and ate out in town so can't comment on the food. As a Hilton Honours card holder (applied for free - never used it before) we were offered a complementary bottle of wine (didn't arrive - but I got free parking because the pay machines were out of order and the barrier was up so I called it quits!). You also get the mineral water in the mini bar for free. If you are considering staying in a Hilton might be worth getting one.

Our room was a twin facing the rear rather than one with a view at the front - but for our needs was fine. I would describe the room size as closer to compact than large - but it wasn't claustrophobic. There was the usual desk, tv and wardrobe (which included a foldaway ironing board & trouser press!) and an en suite with bath & shower. The en suite was in nice condition with black marble surfaces around the sink.

I had read the comments from a previous reviewer about the noisy aircon & since the window does not open if you want some air circulation you have to turn it on. It is not the quietest unit so we only used it for short spells at a time.

In terms of location it is perfectly suited if you want to do anything centrally. We walked into the city centre across the Tyne bridge in about 10 minutes. For the Arena we caught a cab on the way there (less than 5 mins) and walked back in about 25 minutes. I realised later that much of the quayside is actually nicely paved and would offer perhaps a slightly more scenic route towards the arena or in the opposite direction if just out for a stroll.

One word of warning for those arriving by car for the first time. We turned off a slip road immediately before the Tyne bridge and found ourselves in the right hand of two lanes going downhill towards the hotel. The turning into the hotel is approx 100 yards down the hill on the left hand side. By the time I realised that this was the proper turning into the hotel and towards the car park, the left hand lane which had been clear just a moment before suddenly had a taxi in it with a rather irate driver! As you go down the hill there is a slight crest that makes it quite difficult to see much of the left hand lane you have to turn across. Once familiar with the turn it will not be a problem but it is worth being prepared for it on your first visit if you arrive down the same slip road as us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and if returning for a weekend break would certainly be happy to consider the Hilton again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EdinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $100 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing