We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very pleasant night's stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We just stayed over one night in this hotel, but were very impressed with the grand marbled lobby, complete with fountain! Our standard double room overlooked the Tyne, and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay, especially a really good shower and a comfortable bed with plenty of pillows! Tea, coffee and minibar were well stocked for those in need. The evening restaurant was busy so service was perhaps a bit slow, but when served, the food was excellent. At breakfast, again due to a busy restaurant we had to eat in the lobby at coffee tables which was not ideal, but the food itself could not be faulted. We felt overall that this hotel more than met our expectations of Hilton.

  • Liked — Room facilties excellent
  • Disliked — Poor car parking capacity, had to queue 20 minutes to get in.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    933
    470
    206
    116
See reviews for
369
1,155
102
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I use this hotel for business trips once every three months.

The executive rooms really are lovely, bright, modern and funky. The hotel itself is airy, clean and the customer service level is exceptionally high.

The biggest problem for me is that it serves the worst Hilton breakfast in the whole country, it's consistently dreadful. Cheap sausages,. overcooked bacon, no haggis(most other Hilton hotels in the UK serve it), tasteless scrambled egg, fried eggs served in a pool of oil. There is a limited selection of cereals and a very poor fruit offering. If you've got the time or inclination to stand by the automatic toaster it takes three times to get any colour on your toast. The coffee is hideous also, have a cup of tea instead is my advice or even ask for a cup of instant if you want to have anything that at least smells and tastes of coffee.

Will I be back? Yes, because the conference facilities are excellent, the customer service level is high and the rooms have pretty ghood bathrooms.

  • Liked — The room and view
  • Disliked — Awful breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Daxidoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

This was our second time of staying at this hotel and it was equally as good as when we stayed there the first time. Check in was over within minutes and an upgrade to an Executive Floor room was already given before we asked. This allows the use of the Executive Lounge where guests can take Continental Breakfast in the morning and also have free drinks and snacks between 6.00pm and 8.30pm in the early evening. Our room was south facing this time and did not offer much of a view. The north facing rooms have great views across the Tyne to Newcastle. However the rest of the room was exactly the same and was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel is in an ideal location for the Quayside where an abundance of bars and restaurants can be found. It is only a 15 minute walk to Newcastle city centre where there are lots of shops and pedestrian free streets.

Our package included dinner in the restaurant on the first night of our stay and breakfast both mornings. The dining room is very modern and offers nice views of the bridges and across the river. Staff were very friendly. Dinner was a 3 course Table D'hote menu and not the Carvery as found at some of the other Hilton Hotels. This we prefer and the choices were varied and very tasty. Breakfast is of a buffet style and the times are fantastic if you enjoy a long lie in the morning. On Saturday they stop service at 11.00am and on Sunday it is extended until noon. Everything at the breakfast buffet was changed regularly and was nice and hot.

Highly recommend this hotel and we will be back again at some time in the future.

  • Liked — Hiltons beds are so comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing to mention.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Gateshead for one Saturday night in May. We were visiting primarily to go to a concert at the Metro Radio Arena.

The hotel itself is pretty big as you will see from many of the photos with an underground car park for those arriving by car. It has a large lobby with panoramic windows overlooking the Tyne and a couple of the bridges.

We were staying on a room only basis and ate out in town so can't comment on the food. As a Hilton Honours card holder (applied for free - never used it before) we were offered a complementary bottle of wine (didn't arrive - but I got free parking because the pay machines were out of order and the barrier was up so I called it quits!). You also get the mineral water in the mini bar for free. If you are considering staying in a Hilton might be worth getting one.

Our room was a twin facing the rear rather than one with a view at the front - but for our needs was fine. I would describe the room size as closer to compact than large - but it wasn't claustrophobic. There was the usual desk, tv and wardrobe (which included a foldaway ironing board & trouser press!) and an en suite with bath & shower. The en suite was in nice condition with black marble surfaces around the sink.

I had read the comments from a previous reviewer about the noisy aircon & since the window does not open if you want some air circulation you have to turn it on. It is not the quietest unit so we only used it for short spells at a time.

In terms of location it is perfectly suited if you want to do anything centrally. We walked into the city centre across the Tyne bridge in about 10 minutes. For the Arena we caught a cab on the way there (less than 5 mins) and walked back in about 25 minutes. I realised later that much of the quayside is actually nicely paved and would offer perhaps a slightly more scenic route towards the arena or in the opposite direction if just out for a stroll.

One word of warning for those arriving by car for the first time. We turned off a slip road immediately before the Tyne bridge and found ourselves in the right hand of two lanes going downhill towards the hotel. The turning into the hotel is approx 100 yards down the hill on the left hand side. By the time I realised that this was the proper turning into the hotel and towards the car park, the left hand lane which had been clear just a moment before suddenly had a taxi in it with a rather irate driver! As you go down the hill there is a slight crest that makes it quite difficult to see much of the left hand lane you have to turn across. Once familiar with the turn it will not be a problem but it is worth being prepared for it on your first visit if you arrive down the same slip road as us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and if returning for a weekend break would certainly be happy to consider the Hilton again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We decided to go to Newcastle for the bank holiday weekend and I had been wanting to try out the new-ish Hilton there, the only one in Newcastle. Surprisingly, it goes by the name of Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even though strictly speaking it is located in Gateshead, but let's not get too picky.

Anyway...

We arrived on the Saturday and pulled the car up to the entrance. The concierge/porter seemed more interested in chatting to the staff than help us unload the car. If we had pulled up to a Hilton in the US, the concierge/porters would have been all over us like a rash. It's a service thing and this concierge/porter guy would do well to take note.

I went off to park the car whilst my partner had us checked in. Nice car park though bizarrely when you exit on foot following the signs for reception, you need to still walk across the forecourt and into the hotel building. Minor design flaw there then.

We were checked in quickly, no upgrades were available this time, but our room was a riverside room (big tip, call the hotel ahead of your arrival and ask for a river view room, the view is fab and I can only imagine how rubbish the view from the other side is - basically you would look out onto flats.). Nice room in all, everything you would expect from a Hilton of this calibre.

Our rate included dinner on the first night and the food was just amazing. Compliments to the chef. I highly recommend dinner in their restaurant, it's called Windows on the Tyne and, as you would expect from the name, it offers good views across the River Tyne and of Newcastle. Go for the three course dinner, a bargain at just £26. Compared to the south-east and London, very good value for money.

Breakfast was busy both mornings that we were there but the staff were very courteous, efficient and had us seated promptly in nice areas of the restaurant. The buffet is your standard Hilton type buffet, nothing too amazing about it, but the service was very good. We even saw TV presenter Andi Peters in the morning, looks like a few so-called stars stay in the hotel.

On the Sunday we wanted to go out to see Hadrians Wall. The concierge was quite helpful and pointed us in the right direction. However, no maps were on offer so we just relied on our instincts and got there in the end.

In all, it's a nice hotel, great views, great location (5 mins across the Tyne and you are in the pub/restaurant part of Newcastle) and good service. Just a few niggles about the concierge and the odd design of the car park, but definitely no showstoppers.

  • Liked — Great location and good service from restaurant and reception staff
  • Disliked — Design flaw and surly concierge staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

The most impresive of this hotel is its Staff, all of them show good customer focus and high quality service.
The hotel is new so all its facilities are great.
The Bar and Restaurant have a wonderfull view of the City and the atmosphere is very good.
Our room was very big and clean, although the A/C was a little bit noisy.
Public transportation and major atractions are very close

  • Liked — Big room and good amenities
  • Disliked — The A/C was noisy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

Stayed here for one night in April. It's situated on top of a mountain (alright, a small but incredibly steep slope), is new, large, and modern. I do think that the Hilton chain has lost its edge in recent years and I would describe this hotel as well presented, suitable for purpose and comfortable at best, functional and bland at worst.

The check-in staff were very helpful and the room was very clean, spacious and well maintained. I was very comfortable and had no problems with any aspect. It is a bit souless, and geared towards meeting the needs of the business traveller, but tourists visiting the area would be pleased with it as it is pretty much in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Tyne and is a mere hop over to the town centre.

It's also well connected - about 6 miles from Newcastle airport and 10 min walk from the train station. Just beneath the hotel is a lively bar called Buffalo Joes - it's based on the film Coyote Ugly and well, is an experience in itself really!!

  • Liked — Extremely well maintained
  • Disliked — It's situated on a surprisingly steep slope - quite difficult to navigate with a suitcase!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eat_chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing