We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Especially if you're Gold Honours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stay here a lot over the years and have never written a review.
The hotel is always great, good bar, restaurant and breakfast.
I always get an upgrade to executive lounge with my gold card which is great as I stay on business.
The lounge is a good size (split level) and overlooks the quayside and Tyne Bridge.
Parking is always plentiful and reasonably priced for a city centre hotel.
All in all of your looking for a good 4 star hotel with a great gym/pool then you will struggle to beat this in the area.
Modern, clean and welcoming every time.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to exec room or at least a room overlooking the Tyne Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Tobe80

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, it is always nice to welcome back our regular guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 3,089 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

A superb stay over Easter. Customer Service is second to none. Room service food was excellent and we also ate in the Restaurant which was equally good. The Executive Lounge breakfast and early evening nibbles/drinks are a real bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Julie B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially the Restaurant and Executive Lounge, we will certainly share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our third stay at the Hilton Gateshead not because the hotel is fantastic but because it's convenient for the Sage and other entertainment venues. In this instance it was to see Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake which was absolutely fantastic.

The room (425) was in need of TLC and despite being an executive room with riverside view the view from the room wasn't exactly uninterrupted (see pictures). The huge pillars also made the room somewhat gloomy as very little sunlight made it into the room. Robes and slippers were also missing and we had to remind reception. The double bed in the room coupled with "boy racers" having a race outside the hotel at 2am in the morning (ok outside the control of the hotel) didn't make for a good nights sleep so perhaps take ear plugs. We had room service which was efficient and tasty and not overly expensive.

As on previous stays the Executive Lounge hostesses (and apologies if I've got the names slightly wrong) Janette & Katie were excellent, both ladies are a credit to the Hotel, enjoy Cancun Katie!!; it's the main reason for returning to the Hilton Gateshead.

I think now money needs to be spent on bringing the rooms up to the standard of a 4* Hotel as they are beginning to look their age.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in front of the Pillars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schrodinger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Shrodinger56

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

Please be assured that we view all feedback seriously, we do pride ourselves on our service offered and your encounter with us is certainly not to our usual normal high standards.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the room being a little tired and we have an ongoing refurbishment program in place.

I will pass on your lovely comments to Katie and Jeanette.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Bennett
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a family room 147 for one night. I was taken aback with how dirty and stained the majority of the carpet was. Although the furniture etc seems clean enough the state of the carpet just made the whole room dirty. Thank goodness my son was not at the crawling stage. I phoned reception and they sent housekeeping up so they could take a note of stains in case I would be charged for these which seemed ludicrous. When housekeeping appeared they did not seem to bothered about it making me believe this was common through the hotel. I did not take it further then as we were here for one night and my son was tired. I mentioned again to the reception staff on check out and I got an 'ah' as sympathy which was highly annoying. For the amount I paid for one night it really is not worth it in terms of quality and service. I stay at Hilton hotels a lot but this is really below par.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KNairn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear KNairn07

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

It is unfortunate that due to staining caused by previous guests this may give the impression that the carpets are dirty. I can reassure you this is not the case. All our rooms are cleaned daily by my housekeeping team.

We are currently undergoing refurbishment to some of the rooms which includes replacing carpets.

Hope this does not deter you from visiting us again.

Kind regards
Sally Bennett
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Hilton. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The room was clean, very comfortable and the bed was one of the best we have slept in. We would reccomend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear June H

Thank you for taking the time to review your "Getaway" at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your weekend, especially the room and comfortable bed, along with our superb staff.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Second time in 2 weeks for a night in the Toon. Held private meeting in business centre. VC facilities were usual good standard. Pleasant lunch highly personalised and all no problem for staff. Fab breakfast too...recommend restaurant over Exec lounge in this hotel. Great stay

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Greg Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Greg Q

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially the Restaurant, along with our great Hilton Breakfast!

We hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to the Toon in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upgrade at reception to a river view room, not sure what the difference was frankly but newer say no to an upgrade. Room was clean and well prepared. The breakfast was stupendous. Could have spent the rest of the day eating the various breakfast foods.

Friendly we'll trained staff made the whole experience a joy.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Brent T

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the North East, we hope that it will be the first of many.

We were pleased to learn that you were able to stay in a one of our Executive rooms and that you thoroughly enjoyed your Hilton breakfast prior to departing the hotel.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing