We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the Tyne bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great view of the Tyne bridge”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed here on a package deal, upgraded room with balcony for 2 nights including breakfast dinner and lounge access.

The best part is def the lounge access, soft drinks tea and coffee all day with snacks and sandwiches and then in the evening alcoholic drinks. We basically stayed there all afternoon and evening but if you just turned up later on dont expect to get a seat as there were lots of people standing.

The lounge is on a high floor and has large windows to give you prob the best view of the Tyne bridge.

Perfect for stopping in Gateshead and treating yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissfultranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially the executive lounge and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    920
    462
    203
    114
See reviews for
355
1,140
101
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good hotel with excellent facilities yet we experienced some noise during the night which woke both of us up. Quality of service was very good. The hotel is located a short distance from Newcastle town center and on the bank of the river Tyne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at the hotel but disappointed to learn you were disturbed by noise and offer our apologies for this.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here Friday night 22 March, paid £81 B&B for 2 people + £10 parking through Hiltons own website.
Got an upgraded room, always a bonus.
Seems to be getting better since our last visit, although check in is still rushed and impersonal.
Drinks prices in the bar seem more reasonable but the breakfast, served until 11.00am weekends, isn't as good as we remembered - the selection and quality seems to have declined.
All in all, a good hotel if you're intending to stay intown for a concert at the Sage etc - just make sure you get the best rate.

Room Tip: Try for room 137 or 237, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at the hotel however disappointed certain aspects marred your stay. We have shared your comments with our F&B and Front of House Managers in order for them to share with their teams.

We do hope to able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

this hotel is fantastic. I haven't used all the facilities but it's very spacious. Some of the views are great, over the tyne bridge. The hotel is very polite and I have only had pleasant stays on both occasions.
Drinks at the bar are pricey, but then again, you shouldn't be surprised: it's the hilton and it's a hotel bar.
all in all, I would recommend if you can afford it.
the reception area looks amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members. We note your comments regarding our bar prices which we will share with our operational team.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
543 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and I think all the staff are very caring. I stayed on the Exec floor on a Friday evening and it was disappointing to find out that they are not now offering hot food nor spirits at weekend since "it is too busy to spare staff to run up and down from kitchen with hot food". This is quite annoying since surely they could put extra staff on.

The hotel is superb and great views but this new development is very disappointing!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the river. Really great views of the city, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at the hotel but disappointed to learn that certain aspects marred your stay. We aren't sure why you were told the recent changes were down to lack of staff, as this certainly isn't the case and can only offer our apologies for this mis-communication.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay,exec room much appreciated and access to exec lounge was excellent...looked after in the exec lounge by Jeanette who always makes us feel so welcome ...many improvements have been noticed in exec lounge.food on offer is so much better and now one of the best offers in any Hilton that we stay at...
Friendly colleague throughout this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186534Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members, especially by Jeanette. We wil certainly share your comments with her.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel has a great position at the Gateshead side of the Tyne Bridge, it is also very close to The Sage. The views across the river towards the city are excellent. The staff were unbelievably friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and well equipped, however it felt a little tired and in need of a bit of refurbishment. We mentioned this to the general manager who was very helpful and assured us that the refurbishment programme was proceeding. Despite these reservations I would be very happy to return to the hotel. Two tips - specify a refurbished room when booking, pay for breakfast (which was excellent) the day before to get a hefty discount.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river/city view will offer a spectacular scene - however I believe there is a surcharge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyRivington, PA to the General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey Rivington
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing