We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have visited this hotel numerous times and have never been disappointed. Always a good experience when checking in, the staff always attempt to give you the type of room which is best available. Always worth asking for a room to the front which overlooks the Tyne and the Swing bridge as there is some magnificent views to be had. Our room was very good although a small problem was experienced with the shower in room number 117. W went down for breakfast own the Sunday morning at 10.30 which was very busy but staff coped very well. Only grumble is the parking charges there which appear to be creeping up all the time. Our 25hr stay cost £13

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    933
    470
    206
    116
See reviews for
369
1,155
102
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed on the 17th of February and coincidently the X Factor lot were staying in this hotel on the same night. Myself and my friends were treated like stalkers and kept being checked for our cards to ensure we hadn't snuck into the hotel. We were being followed to our rooms by staff and told that we weren't allowed to walk around. We sat in the lobby and were being watched by the staff at the reception and were told "Approach the x factor contestants and you will be kicked out". Dispicable since we didn't even know they were staying there and we booked this hotel for just a night away. We payed 123 for this room so I don't understand why we were being treated like criminals? The hotel was really nice though, but the staff completely let it down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 916Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you like beige you should stay at this hotel.

Seems the designers have set out to decorate the rooms as blandly as possible with a real corporate feel. The lobby is nice and the exec lounge impressive although the food was like the decoration bland and forgetful.

Checkout was poor but checkin was good and speedy.

Service is ok but on most occasions you have to approach the team they don't come to you.

I wouldn't stay here again unless I didn't have a choice.

Room was very clean a part from the shower curtain.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room it will cost more but worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hiltons can vary so much in the UK but as a regular visitor to the Newcastle Gateshead Hilton this has to be my favourite. I am a Diamond Honors member and the staff in the Lounge are brilliant and always make me feel welcome. Thanks Jeanette and team.. Also Andrew on reception has great customer focus and he is very quick at checking you in and out. The hotel has excellent views over the river if you are allocated a room on that side. Worth asking if you are on a special visit for a river view.
I wouldnt stay anywhere else when im on business in the North East.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Occassional train noise for rooms at the west end of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent leisure centre.Staff were very friendly. One day we missed breakfast but a really nice man called Farid that worked in the restaurant went that extra mile to help us and made us feel very special. He made sure we got a very nice breakfast even though the restaurant was closed.

Room Tip: Excellent views of the river and worth paying the extra for that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

excellent views over the tyne from the executive rooms / lounge.This is our 4th time at the hotel we find all the staff to be very friendly the hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious, bathrooms very clean food excellent i can not find any fault with this hotel. looking forward to coming back also people keep returning to the hotel which is always a good sign i would tell everyone about this hotel.Carron A Cumbria

Room Tip: we always book a executive room you get great veiws and fantasic service in the executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a valentines day surprise! It was amazing! The reception staff on checking in were very friendly and accomodating. The room well what can I say we had an executive suite with a floor to ceiling window straight across the tyne bridge, you could see for miles! The room was spotless as was the bathroom. the hotel is excellent location just across the bridge to the newcastle side of the quayside. The breakfast in the morning was really well presented catering for every need from continental to full english cereal fruit etc. a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcrawford1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing