We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great shopping Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The MetroCentre

The MetroCentre
Ranked #7 of 42 things to do in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a great shopping Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love this place, Its very clean if you cannot find it in the metrocentre dont bother looking!!
It has shops, Cinema, Food and drink establishments, Cinmea, even bowling and dodgeems!!
ah and a car shop room in the centre what else do you need

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebabydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    105
    34
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“can always get everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

i went a couple of days ago to get my holiday clothes and i went with my friends caitlyn and marie. marie was looking for a bag for her daughter and some stationary for her son. she got it all caitlyn was looking for a new dress as we all are attending our really good friends wedding elise. she found the perfect dress in debenhams. i got lots of holiday things in primark,bank,river island and other shops. we ate at burger king and loved it aswel. If i had a penny for everytime i gone to the metro i would be rich. this visit is for everything, solo,couples,family with young childen and with teens also friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am from Gateshead so live near the MetroCentre. Although it is nice, modern and has good quality shops, I think it has went slightly down hill in recent years. There are lots of empty shop units, I think this is partially due to getting rid of MetroLand (the indoor theme park they had) which was a large attraction for people, especially for those with young children, although the new restaurants, cinema and arcade/casino/bowling alley that they replaced it with are good and I enjoy going to them, I still think getting rid of MetroLand was a bad move.

But overall it is well worth a visit and would recommend going to sample some of the restaurants and enjoy the shops, as well as a movie, if you have time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“always ace as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

visited again, as always there is always a parking space. we visited as a family and we spent all day in there. There is always something going on too, this time it was the gnome factor which was funny. The amount of shops of all different kinds is ace, theres definately something for everyone. There is a few themed areas like Italian and the village. We stopped in the village and had a cup of coffee, our kids said it was like been outside.we always go back here, we make a 200 mile round trip for the visit because its worth it.I noticed the Metrocentre is pushchair/wheelchair friendly, there is security wandering around and cleaners keeping the place safe and clean. 10/10

Helpful?
Thank dazm47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very clean and spacious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The MetroCentre is massive and has a great choice of shops. It is absolutely spotless inside and I really enjoyed just chilling there. They also have some lovely cafes inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lareinetammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The MetroCentre also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing