We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT”
Review of Ravensdene Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ravensdene Lodge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came here for my stag doo 29/3/2013 i must say it was brilliant the staff were very helpful and polite, the rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable.The food was out of this world it was the best steak ive had!!! the bar is open until 4am what more could you ask for made my weekend very enjoyable thanks guys we will be back

craig (wirral)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Craig

Thank you for your review and comments. There is a new team in the kitchen now and we are changing menus. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen. Hope to see you again soon. Regards From all of us here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    31
    28
    75
See reviews for
31
43
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we have been going to the resturant for a while now for our sunday lunch and the customer service here diabolical, great food but every week without fail they would make us feel unwanted and patronised. The staff would never acknowledge us with a friendly smile just a simple grunt! we would order our drinks they would not be brought over we would have to go over and get them ourselves had to ask for our food tickets everytime we went, it was amazing how we seen with some of the guests they remembered them and were lovely and chatty with them but with us that never happened and we would consider ourselves to be very approchable nice people. We will never be returning to this resturant again and hope people bear this in mind when they go! the resturant appearence is also very scruffy and dated so i would not even like to imagine what the rest of the hotel is like!!!!

Room Tip: Would not recommend anyone to go here not even my worst enemy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte01207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Charlotte

After our conversations earlier this year, please note that we have changed our Sunday Carvery Service and have a new Team Leader.
I am awfully sorry that you have felt that the Ravensdene Lodge Hotel has let you down in the past and I am disappointed to hear this. AS previously suggested I would like you to book a table in the Conservatory it does have a nicer ambience than the lounge bar area. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gateshead hotels

1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well a lot to be looked at place is a shambles! Food outstanding shame was like sitting in a school canteen!! Tables scattered all over bar area!! Staff here there and everywhere. No customer service at all!! Very run down and disapointed! Won't be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
In response to the review dated 11th March 2013

Thank you for your review. I am dissapointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your experience here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.
I can however state the following:
We are exceptionally busy on Sundays for the Carvery which is priced at £7.95 for Starter and Main Course, and we use the whole conservatory and bar area for service.
We served over 180 people on Mothers Day and did not have any negative feedback from the diners. There was one technical issue in the cellar which did slow down bar service however it was rectified within an hour by Emergency Tech Services.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment over the next 12 months.
I can apologise that you were not happy with the service you received and hope that this does not deter you from future visits. If you are to book in for Sunday Lunch then please request a table in The Conservatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Myself and another 9 guys from Aberdeen stayed here in Feb for a stag do.
I would have to say for the minimal price we paid to stay here I thought the rooms were pretty good, not that we seen much of them. Flat screen tvs and all the usual extras you should expect for twice the price or more. You need to pay a 50 quid bond per person which you get back if your room is how you found it when you checked in...... All the staff who work here are amazing and probably have to put up with quite a lot of stuff they shouldn't! The important lady question.... Yes the supply towels in your room. The breakfast is eat all you can cooked by "Gordon Ramsey " who cooks your eggs how you like them with your Stella. The 24 hour bar is an added bonus for a nightcap or hair of the dog. All in all what more could you ask for? Thanks guys for looking after us!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J9bor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
In response to the review dated 1.3.13

Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate all the positive feedback, it really does help boost staff morale!
We are undergoing refurbishment this year and do hope to see you all again!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

would like to say the stay would of been bad if it wasn't for the food and the night porter called Craig, he was the most polite and well dressed person in hotel, you should make him manager and then the hotel would get better. ps have you got gorden Ramsey working in your kitchen cos the food was out standing.we will be back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweety99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
In response to the review 9.1.13

Thank you for your review.
We value all members of staff and they are one of the core reasons to our success here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.
We are undergoing a refurbishment programme here at the hotel and do hope you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After reading the previous review about Xmas day - I would just like to say we have been coming to the ravensdene lodge for many months and are always in every Sunday to have the carvery. Which is the best carvery in the north east. My wife and I really enjoy going there. We were there on Christmas Day and had booked for 2.30pm, the place was fine and clean the staff were great and we couldn't fault it at all. The place was not dirty as has been described in the previous review, and if the owners were that bad why are the staff still working there? I see them all every week- and will be seeing them all again tomorrow when i go for my Sunday lunch. Already booked for Xmas 2013 with the rest of my family. I recommend this place to everyone food is great, location excellent and staff are great - Martin & Jamie the chefs great. Thanks to all the staff who worked Xmas day for us. Saved us the washing up at home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nb1gateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
In response to the review dated 5.1.13

Thank you for your comments, as a regular customer here at the hotel, we would like to say thank you for supporting us and thank you for your positive comments. They really do mean a lot to us and help boost staff morale. We all worked extremley hard over the Christmas Period and I would like to praise all the members of staff who worked with us over the busy lunch period, and served the 146 diners in Dene Suite. Our staff are wonderful and we get numerous letters and cards and emails about them.
We look forward to seeing you again and again and bring on Christmas 2013!!
We are undergoing a refurbishment programme over the next 12 months so there will be some more changes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Food was really good but the chefs are wasted in this establishment the owners are very rude and treat their staff absolutely terribly. The toilets and bar area were absolutely filth and smelly. However the dining area was ok and the food fantastic without the chefs and the young dark haired lad who runs the bar the place would be probably the worst place you could visit in the north east. The owners should really take note and and treat the staff and customers a bit better and keep the place cleaner, as without the staff mentioned this place will most certainly fail.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x2chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
In response to the review 26.12.12

Thank you for comments.

Firstly I would like to point out that the Owners were not present on Christmas Day.
The mentioned male staff was the responsible supervisor who was supposed to upkeep the routine inspections of the public areas to ensure that they were clean. I can however point out that after inspecting CCTV footage the place was not dirty, yes there may have been occasions where people have brought presents in to unwrap and left the wrapping paper under tables and on the floor, and yes I can say it was not cleared within five minutes. But it was Christmas Day and there was a lot of people using the facilities.
The public toilets in the lounge bar were closed at 3pm once it was brought to the attention of the duty manager that someone had decided to block them with toilet roll.
We served over 130 people on Christmas Day and did not receive any negative feedback or comments on the day or afterwards. In fact several people have pre booked for Christmas 2013.
We have taken on board all comments and have reviewed working practices for the future.
The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme over the next 12 months.
We hope that this does not deter you from future visits to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
1.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdene Lodge

Property: Ravensdene Lodge
Address: 55 Consett Road | Lobley Hill, Gateshead NE11 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensdene Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ravensdene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdene Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing