We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the quayside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Second time I've stayed here at it was as good as the last time.
The staff were helpful and pleasant, the bar was bright and well stocked.
The room was the usual business hotel standard, tea, coffee etc,
Breakfast had plenty on offer.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank frankandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Bar food absolutely awful, room filthy - food found under the bed also the beds shake every time a door slams shut. Bathroom smelt very strongly of urine and room dirty too. Very noisy, could also hear TV in next door room. My double bed base sheet was actually two singles made up going width ways so my feet kept catching in them. I was booked for 7 nights and checked out after one! Saying that, staff were very apologetic and percentage of refund was given. Staff helpful, hotel terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foxsm12224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel and found the hotel to be in a prime location with wonderful views of the Quayside and its attractions. We enjoyed excellent customer service with special mention going to Yolanda on reception who manages to cope with a busy and demanding desk with style and good grace, a credit to herself and Jury's Inn. We also enjoyed the special attention from Alex in dealing with a minor issue in our room but it was given immediate attention once again good customer care skills being employed. This hotel impressed me with their service, it was a busy hotel on a Saturday night and they still made everyone feel special and for me this is a winning team in a busy and demanding location.

Our rooms both had excellent views, were of a good standard, our breakfast was good and plentiful with once again good customer service given to all tables. If our busy life takes us back to Newcastle on a Saturday night we would look forward to booking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside. Parking is limited arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Checked in at 7.30p.m. after an 11 hour drive to be told our booking had been cancelled by a computer error! However within minutes the glitch had been sorted out and we were given a free upgrade to a room with a great view of the Quayside. The room was as I have come to expect from this chain - spacious, all amenities and very comfortable beds. We had a bar snack and a couple of drinks in the Bar and although a bit pricey the food was delicious and the pints went down well. The only bad thing was we had to leave after just one night.

Room Tip: A one overlooking the river which would mean the 2nd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marafil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Here are my views on the Jury’s Inn Gateshead- . The staff at the reception are very friendly. The furnishings in the rooms is very good due to the new upgrade. Big free car park.. Best hotel for views of Gateshead and Newcastle..
A very clean and new hotel, which approximately 10 minutes on to City Centre.
Breakfast…wow!
Very clean hotel with large, bright rooms

If you want a great stay, location, staff….. it has to be Jury’s gateshead

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here on a weekend.

The Good:

* Excellent location;
* The hotel is new and the rooms are clean and the reception was bright and welcoming.

The bad

* This hotel positions itseld mid-way between a budget and a full service hotel and while the majority of the hotel felt modern and well furnished the bathroom felt basic.

* The major downside of the hotel was the doormen who were clearly leftovers from a nightclub and I witnessed be quite confrontational towards several guests. I appreciate they get stag weekends so security is important but I don't expect to see bully boy tactics deployed in night clubs used in a hotel.

Ben

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed two nights while visiting Newcastle for a wedding. We arrived on Thursday, leaving Saturday. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast buffet served until 11; late check-out until 12; excellent shower, really powerful; staff were very nice; lovely location right on the river with beautiful views; comfy beds.

There were only a few cons: there was a 2 inch gap under the door to the room which let in a powerful amount of light. I blocked it using our suitcase. They charge for WiFi. The weekends seem to be full of hen/stag dos. However, despite the numerous stag/hen dos booked into the hotel, it was still very quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend staying here, as it's a great location and great value.

Room Tip: Top floor. If you book a room on the front of the hotel, the bar terrace is just below so that might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $61 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing