We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely hotel.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent one night here and found it very good. Fantastic location, just on the river, very near The Sage and The Baltic and Quayside bars. The hotel is quite new and it looks it with nice furniture and very bright, clean and fresh rooms. The staff were really good in every department. Will certainly use this place again. The car park is good value too at £6.50 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: For a ten pounds supplement you can have a room with a view of the Tyne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was pleasing to hear you found the location of the hotel ideal. I have shared all your comments with the team.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    687
    276
    98
    46
See reviews for
287
692
66
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I checked in to the Jury's late Sunday night after having a disaster of an experience at another hotel. I was in Newcastle on business along with four colleagues and on arrival we were all very tired and stressed. I have to take my hat off to the duty manager David Thurgood and his staff for their kindness. They made us feel very welcome after hearing about our earlier torrid experience.

To quickly summarise the hotel I would say it is modern, immaculately clean, well run, stunning views of the Tyne, comfy beds, friendly and efficient staff.

I would definitely return to this hotel and actually look forward to doing so in the not too distant future.

Thanks again to David and his team for your hospitality.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room (414) which had excellent views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed two nights for a stag party and this hotel is spot on! Probably would'nt wanna take the girlfriend for a romantic weekend as its awash with fellas like us on the beer....and hens too!
Arrived friday evening in the car and the car park was full but its not a problem...very pleasant and helpful reception staff told me i can park at the Encore Ramada hotel for a fiver a day and its a 3 min walk up the hill so not a drama!
Rooms are very clean and ideal,they do the job when your coming in at 4 and back out at 11!
Location is ok,a 15 minute walk from the diamond strip and the quayside is chilled at daft o'clock.
Paid £90 a room which had a single and a double bed....that was room only and we did'nt eat so cant comment on the scran.Bar same hotel prices but well stocked and a good party atmosphere! Thanks for a pleasant weekend Guys!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M6John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June (reviewing on final night) on a business trip.
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of interior decor, the setting of the hotel (right by the Quays), with beautiful views, nice and friendly staff.
As I hadnt heard of this hotel chain before, I was wary of what awaited on the other side.
It appeared to be a new modern building, facilities were very clean, the bed was extremely comfy and cosy sheets to match.
The staff were very efficient and helpful on the 2 occasions I required assistance (Non working TV remote and Ironing kit), on both occasions the reception noted my requests and promised to send them up to my room which they did.
The only bad points are that there was no telephone in the room therefore I had to journey from 3rd floor down to reception on both occasions, also I had to have my curtains closed most of the time as there was a towering office building across the road and you can pretty much see every occurrence in the offices and I am pretty much certain that can also be reciprocated.
Otherwise this is great value for money, no fuss hotel.
Mind you for similar views in London (which London Bridge is probably most similar,setting wise) you'd be paying a fortune.

Room Tip: Request a room with river view or at least away from the sight of the office block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohuka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastleton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

stopped at the jurys inn gateshead quays on sat 23/16/2013. chose this hotel because it was handy for the gateshead international stadium where we were attending the european athletics team championships.

arrived to find that the german,turkish and norwegian teams were staying at the hotel. not a problem you would have thought for an athletics fan like myself. well no except we were told by the man on reception (who appeared to have his angry trousers on!) that the restaurant was closed because the athletes had sole use of it but we could use the bar for bar meals if we liked but it would be very busy. you can have breakfast in the restaurant if you like but you might have a wait as it will be very busy. no eye contact whatsoever from mr grumpy. a form thrust at me and a gruff sign here.

the room was spotlessly clean with a nice view over the river. the bathroom was a bit small but again spotless and had decent quality toiletries and towels. sleep quality was good and beds of a decent quality. the room was a credit to the housekeeping staff.

we did have a meal in the bar which was a mistake. bar full of drunks and service slow.
had breakfast in a very packed restaurant but service was ok and the choice and quality of food was excellent.

apart from mr grumpy on reception the other reception staff and all other staff i came into contact with were excellent.

despite having a few problems during our stay i would use this hotel again as i suspect on a 'normal' day it is a pretty decent hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Big clean rooms. Friendly staff and the food is great. Only down side is you have to pay for wifi. This is a well laid out hotel and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Shower was hot and it had a good supply of shampoo and soaps and fluffy towels

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank switchie_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here on a bus tour and there were 41 of us - the check-in was slick and the staff were friendly and efficient. Comfortable, clean, well-equipped rooms. Quiet as it is along the promenade and across the millenium bridge, away from the crowds. There was a rather rowdy hens night there during our stay but the noise didn't filter through to the rooms and they were rather entertaining. Breakfast was OK .... perhaps a bit below good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing