We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
County Durham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here with the girls for a night out in Newcastle. lovely clean hotel, room was a bargain for 3 of us with enough bed space. Staff pleasent, car park reasonable price. short taxi ride into town. Breakfast is gorgeous. would use again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    697
    279
    104
    49
See reviews for
291
707
66
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February with a friend. The room was as expected, clean and simple. The bathroom was a slight let down, not quite as clean as it should be and the sink could do with unblocking. Water starts to fill the sink up even when the tap is only running at a slow water pressure. Not a massive problem, but I would just expect better from a hotel of this size.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I have passed the comments to our maintenance manager regarding the sink & water pressure, thank you for bringing this to our attention and I’m sorry this impacted negatively on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly should you choose to stay at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

checked in this hotel for a mini break away from the noise and city centre traffic , everything seemed good apart from couple of staff and the manager! we were abit fussy about our drinks so we were looked at strangely! it did not look like that the manager cared even one bit about the diners nor did he care about his staff judging by the way his staff worked, the food however was excellent and the décor is very elegant. our room was nice and clean and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was obviously disappointed to hear your feedback, I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly so I can discuss this further with you. I’ve tried to investigate the issues you have raised but it’s very difficult to do this without having direct contact with yourself.

It was pleasing to see that you found the food quality , decor & bedroom all positve aspects of your stay.

My email address is david_toole@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

David Toole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived in Gateshead shattered after a 5 hour drive from London and the sat nav in my car took us to South Shore Road - but it turned out to be an industrial estate. Rang the hotel and explained our problem and the staff member said "it's on South Shore Road". When we explained where we were he said "oh no you are in the wrong place altogether" but didn't tell us how to get there! Eventually we worked it out by finding signs for Gateshead Quay. Lucky as the first 2 letters in JURYS were unlit.
A rather protracted check-in experience - several drunk looking persons arguing about the facilities in their rooms and certain credit cards not being liked by the hotel pre-authorisation - and only one member of staff dealing with 3 of us (the others were dealing with the arguments!) Room was adequate but we were lucky to have a great view of the quay (this was one of the complaints downstairs). Parking extra at £6.50 per night. We had pre-paid for breakfast x 2 which was OK at £10 each on top, and with the parking the bill came up to £131.50. After taking payment we were given a mini-lecture about how we could have saved £20 booking through the hotel website - I am sure the staff member meant to be helpful - but we felt rather bemused!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I can appreciate that after such a long drive it must have been very frustrating to not be able to find the hotel easily. I apologise you were not given clearer information when you called the hotel.

One positive aspect of your stay was the great view that you mentioned over the Quayside which I agree is fantastic.

I would hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the hotel at some point in the future whether it be for business or pleasure. I would be more than happy to oversee a future stay to ensure it’s a comfortable one. My email address is david_toole@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

David Toole
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute and I was not disappointed. The rooms are big and clean and the food was well priced and well cooked.and the views of the river are fantastic and the staff are friendly what more could you ask for.0

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in jury's in march, my mum aunt and I...the location was great, walking distance to shops, pubs and clubs... Towels were changed everyday and rooms were immaculate and really toasty warm :-) ...the hotel drink was expensive so bring your own or there is a few good restaurants/bars across the millenium bridge (slug and lettuce) which serves some of the best cocktails I've ever had :-) ... Don't use the black taxis as they charge a little more than the number the hotel will give you for a reasonable taxi service...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Jurys Inn Gateshead on business. It is quite new, staff are friendly and bright, check in welcoming. Slight issue with car parking. Hotel carpark is quite small and adjacent carpark (Baltic Centre) charges by the hour even through the night....! Advice is get there early..
Room was fine, clean, comfortable bed, aircon was a bit of a challenge but mastered it eventually.Breakfast, was a help yourself, including making your own tea/toast...but adequate.Newcastle Quayside is just across the bridge...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edsnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing