We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - out the windows”

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Gateshead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a landmark industrial building on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC presents an ever-changing calendar of dynamic, diverse & international contemporary visual art exhibitions and events. Also houses BALTIC SHOP, a cafe/bar. Library & Archive and Six rooftop restaurant.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views - out the windows”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

There's a box on the way in asking for a voluntary £5 donation, my advice is don't make your donation until you're leaving because otherwise you'll want your money back. If you're in the vicinity it is worth going for the views though, especially if it coincides with the Millenium Bridge is tilting (I think it happens once a day) as it's the best place to view it from, but the exhibitions when we were there were dismal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maisiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    255
    187
    105
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only one gallery open”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's just as well the suggested £5 donation is voluntary as we certainly wouldn't have got our money's worth here. All but one gallery were closed for rehanging and we didn't think much what we saw (Simon Bill's oval paintings). The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

Having said that, the building is great and the view from the top is incredible. The shop is excellent - interesting selection of products in every range.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank notginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Some might call it art...”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A beautiful building overlooking the river Tyne just by the side of the Millennium bridge. We saw two exhibitions, one was a montage of 3 videos played in a dark room. Can't remember the artists name but we enjoyed the work. Another one I found hard to appreciate, (not being an artist or connected to the arts world, i,e, just an ordinary member of the public) a small pile of nuts, (ironmongery, not the grows on trees variety) and, separately, 2 screws tip to tip glued to make them stand on end. Hmmm, maybe I'm a bit thick?
What I did enjoy were the views from the platform on level 4 and the glass of wine in the bar on level 6, again overlooking the river and Newcastle beyond just as the sun was beginning to set, now that I DO call art, spectacular.
Obviously the exhibitions change regularly, it's probably pot luck as to what you get and if you like it, art is very subjective after all.
There is also a very nice gift shop on the ground floor

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Always an education”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It may not look like art but its always interesting and generally there is more than one display
The top floor restaurant is great for lunch

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

An amazing building with lots of history. The art exhibitions are always interesting if sometimes a bit unusual . Certainly well worth going to. The view from the top is lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing