We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Building... Terrible Content!”

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
Ranked #8 of 42 things to do in Gateshead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a landmark industrial building on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC presents an ever-changing calendar of dynamic, diverse & international contemporary visual art exhibitions and events. Also houses BALTIC SHOP, a cafe/bar. Library & Archive and Six rooftop restaurant.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Building... Terrible Content!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

If there was ever a beautiful building in Newcastle/Gateshead going to waste, here it is! It could be put to much better use than having a few exhibits of totally ridiculous modern art. Since when is an inflatable cloud or washing lines with sheets on considered art? Also, when have grey concrete blocks been anything other than dull and uninspiring, certainly not worthy of art status. This place is a waste of taxpayers money?

The staff are miserable, rude, and unapproachable looking down their snooty noses at you, and god forbid should you get too close to the terrible exhibitions! One particular highlight was a massive room filled with utterly microscopic exhibits, including a pile of drawing pins on the floor!! Two floors were closed at the time of visiting. The best part was the children's floor. Much more inspiring than the other garbage.

Utter rubbish. Imagine how good this iconic building could be!! It's a total waste.

The ridiculously fast lifts and viewing box are the only saving graces!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    240
    175
    98
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know it was so cultured oop north! Fabrice Hyber exhibition was stimulating and interactive. Cool building. Inspiring views over the Tyne.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boldon United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

After shopping in Newcastle we decided that we would have a quick sandwich in the Baltic cafe. It was on our way home and we were in a hurry. What a mistake! We waited over 25minutes for a prawn sandwich and an open steak sandwich. We had long finished our coffees before our food came! The cafe was not particularly busy and there were plenty of staff.
We were also disappointed in the menu which was very limited. There was a lovely breakfast menu but unfortunately that was only available until lunch time. What's wrong with having French toast at any time of the day?
We won't rush back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boxjellifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly enthusiastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Saw the Fabrice Hyber exhibition 'Raw Materials' which consists of very wacky installations most of which you are encouraged to interact with. I appreciated how the staff took time to enthusiastically explain things. Comfortable ground floor cafe.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSchofieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“when money is short - this is not the way to spend it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The building is very interesting and the views from the top are stunning but the content is disgraceful - poor quality, lacking in inspiration, flair and imagination and basically, to put it simply we felt they were taking the p***! Luckily there was no entry charge or I would have asked for my money back.(They weren't asking for feedback - I wonder why?) Left feeling very very underwhelmed - decided to walk to the Biscuit Factory (about 15 mins away) what a contrast - just shows what a bit of commercialisation can do for art - it was excellent and highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel14750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing