We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is easy to get to, and situated very close to the MetroCentre and Retail Park, with shops and restaurants galore. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel was modern, spacious and very clean. We requested a fifth floor room and were happy to get one, the only problem being the guy in the adjoining room watching a 24 hour news channel until the early hours with his volume a little high, but this wasn't a big issue, and thankfully the hotel does not encourage large groups of adults in its rooms so stag and hen parties tend to stay in the more lenient city centre zoos willing to have them. Could have done with a few more sachets of complimentary coffee and sugar, but again no big thing. Excellent room and large bathroom, plenty of hot water, great evening meal which we had sent up to us, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    345
    94
    18
    13
See reviews for
200
321
25
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was excellent: spacious and clean rooms; huge bathroom with nice toiletries; helpful staff and decent breakfast. The hotel gym and pool seemed very popular, so they are probably nice although I didn't try them myself. Very good value for money too. The only drawback is that unless one comes with a car, navigating around the hotel even to the closeby shops is a bit tricky. My only recommendation is that the wifi should be included in the room rate - the one hour complementary use of internet in the lobby is simply not adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I recently ate here for a fund raiser

The starter was a average soup, main decent chicken and the cheese cake dessert pretty good.

The service is very good. I personally hate marriot hotels as I find them all the same . Trying to
Hard and with stressed poorly looked after staff. But this isn't too bad

Second big dinner here

Pretty decent realky

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

stayed here numerous times on business.
Easy to reach from the main road, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. Next door to metro centre if you need any shopping. not too far by car or taxi if you want to go into the centre of Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years, i thought it was about time i told others about it.

The Marriott is a great business hotel and would be a god base for anyone visiting the North East, as it is well situated for the Metro centre, keeping the wife happy for the shopping trip, It is close to Teen valley and Newcastle for business trips.

The hotel has great leasure facilaties and a good restayurant and Bar both serving good quality food with excellent service.

the Breakfast in a morning is self service so if your hungry you can have your fill with an excellent choice of foods for all.

The rooms are large and well appointed with all yourequire for a good nights sleep, so all in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the several themed rooms its an experince.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here two nights while exploring Hadrian's Wall and lower Northumberland. Huge room, excellent bath/shower and towels. Very nice vanity area outside bathroom. Exceptionally comfortable king bed, definitely didn't want to roll out each morning! Location good depending on your plans, right off A1 but no highway noise. We walked to the huge Metrocentre mall, one of largest in Britain. Enjoyed a full breakfast, the only meal we had on premises (included with our room). Staff at front desk was very welcoming and helpful with directions. Free parking. Internet and bar expensive. Wifi was not available in rooms at our visit, but I understand that has changed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughnsdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My son and I stayed in a family room for an overnight stay as we were visiting Newcastle University. The hotel was well located near the Metrocentre and other retail shops. It had a good fitness centre which we used (complimentary membership for guests). The room was comfortable and well furnished with two queen beds and an adequate bath/shower. There was free ca parking on site and it was about a 10/15minute drive into central Newcastle. There was a bus stop right by the hotel. We did have breakfast which was £15.50 per person, it was buffet style and there was plenty of food but in my opinion quite expensive. There was MacDonalds and Pizza Hut directly opposite the hotel and also a large Asda. Just a few further metres away there were several eating establishments to choose from including a Toby Carvery.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.9 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
960 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Property: Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing