We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas shopping trip to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed in a few Marriott hotels so decided to try this one to combine Christmas shopping with my husbands birthday, so pleased we did. We stayed on the second floor , the room was quiet and very comfortable with a large bathroom.We booked an executive package which included choices of extras eg: bottle of wine , in house movie and soft drinks and confectionery from the minibar in the room. We had our evening meal in the Metro centre and breakfast in the hotel which was of usual Marriott high standard with lots of choices of hot and cold food. All of the staff were very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 941 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

A lovely place to stay, very welcoming staff, nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed on the fourth floor, a very quiet room with a lovely comfortable bed.
We ate in the restaurant as our evening meal was included in the price. We had the carvery which was delicious.
Breakfast the next morning was just as nice, lots of choice and eggs cooked to order.
Very good location, it took us five minutes to walk to the metro center. Lots of shops, supermarkets and restaurants within walking distance.
We will definately be returning.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank millie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed fri/sat night b&b with dinner first night.
Always a warm welcolm at this hotel,from the moment you walk in its a feeling of sumptiousness and relaxation.
Great rooms that you like to spend a bit of time in not just somewhere to sleep.
We had dinner first night included it was excellent though wine very,very expensive.
Marriott breakfasts are great,very tasty surely something for everyone set us up for the day for our xmas shopping.
Bus stop right outside took us into the city in 20 mins only cost £3.60 each for an all day rover ticket.
Fantastic swimming pool and sauna/jacuzzi.
If your going for a shopping 'jolly' or just some 'now time; this hotel is for you

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loganbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here whilst on business. The location was great for the metro centre but the proximity to the roads mean that windows cannot be opened and the air con did not work so even in late November the room was hot.

The room was a good size and the bathroom was clean and modern. The complimentary toiletries were nice - but no conditioner.

The staff were polite and reception was adequately manned.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Check the air con works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankgirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Gates... M, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am very sorry that you encountered an issue with the air conditioning in your room and thank you for bringing this to our attention. On a positive note, I am pleased to read your comments regarding the staff and the facilities. Conditioner is available upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Metro Centre a place my friend Joanne & I had never ventured. The Marriott only being a stones throw away great to unpack the car & leave it till our departure. A warm welcome at reception, room was very spacious, warm, clean and the staff very helpful & friendly.
Our evening meal Friday was included in our package and may I say we don't usually eat three courses but the portions enabled us to do so.
Breakfast was plentiful. Certain to go back so ideally situated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel. The location for shopping at the MetroCentre is ideal, we've never travelled into Newcastle from here so can't comment on distance or price etc. Standard of rooms are very good. Service also good. The only let down was the evening meal, frozen chips is not what you expect in a restaurant of this standard, and and steak in steak & kidney pudding was a bit chewy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having planned a shopping trip to the Metro Centre, we decided to stay over at the Marriot Hotel, the room was spacious, clean and warm. The staff were lovely too. My only little gripe would be the breakfast, my husband thoroughly enjoyed his full english, I on the other hand had fruit and yoghurt followed by a croissant with marmalade, the croissant wasnt fresh and the marmalade was an odd consistency and tasted just like sugar, not pleasant. There was loads of choice but I think at £99 for a one night stay the breakfast ingredients for me were what i would have expected in a budget hotel. Everything else was spot on and you could just walk from the hotel to the Metro Centre so for shoppers its a must stay. Next time I will have toast. lol

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Gates... M, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Many thanks for posting your review and I am very pleased to read your kind words regarding our associates and the services we provide. I am sorry that some of the breakfast items did not live up to your expectation. Our head chef has been made aware of your comments so that they can be addressed with his team. Once again, very many thanks for your valuable feedback.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,064 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
756 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $83 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing