We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

stayed here recently and was not dissapointed ,the staff are friendly and polite,food is good,bedrooms are very good ,spa is good too.In all if u are needind a place to stay if u are going to the metro centre i would reccomend here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 941 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having stayed in this hotel before I was hugely disapointed in my stay this week. The room size was great and the facilities good but the sheets on the bed had to be changed as someone had blown their nose and the remains were dried in on the sheets. Green and vile !!! When reported to reception housekeeping changed them right away YUCK. Also the heating wasn't working and when reported to reception, a female manager came to the room and tried to set it but agreed with us that it wasn't working. She left the room to sort it out but believe it or not she returned with an oil filled radiator and plugged it in. This then sat in the middle of the room and constantly clicked on and off all night. Talk about a disturbed sleep. I also think this would be a health and safety issue as this heater was very hot and had no guard or anything on it which would be an issue for children. At check out we were not even asked if our stay had been pleasant hence the reason for this review. On a better note the food we had in the resturant was great and the service very good the young small dark haired girl was very helpful. At £119.00 a night B&B I expected more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Gates... M, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am very disappointed to read your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered and we will be contacting you direct from the hotel to discuss the matter further. On a positive note, I am glad that you found the food was great and the service was good.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful rooms, great location, and excellent staff. The room was wonderful and very clean. It close to shopping and restaurants and easy off the highway. It was a busy trip so a great stop for me. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here on several trips to Newcastle. You do have to take taxis to reach Newcastle but they are reasonable and the hotel is very well run. We have used it on 3 separate occasions and always had great staff and room service!

Room Tip: No preference here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColonelC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

great staff , very helpful, good size rooms and a good spot to explore this super city from . just what we wanted for a weekend s entertainment . metro centre great for shopping and food not to mention the very good cinema . the hotel was a typical high standard marriot , gym and pool very good .food and drink as good as ever although a bit over priced , but alround good hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevelincoln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hi,

I have stayed here a few times now and it has a lot going for it. Big rooms, helpful and friendly staff, pool and gym facilities, free parking and good food.

Only downside for me personally would be no free wi fi

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Myself & my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Marriott, Metrocentre. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the MetroCentre, an ideal location for a shopping weekend, but just beware if you are planning your trip for a night out - its £10 per taxi journey in and out of the citycentre. The journey itself from the centre is around 10 mintues. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the car park area, it was very spacious and clean with two very comfy double beds, a flat screen t.v, a huge bathroom & plenty of wardrobe space - the room was also very quiet, with no noise at all coming from outside.
We had dinner at the hotel on the first night, which was nice but I've had better - it was part of our deal, so was free - however two drinks came to £14, which we found a bit pricey. If you dont have a dinner free on the 1st night deal & dont want to spend a fortune - there are plenty places to eat at the metro-centre, we ate there on the 2nd night. The buffet style breakfast at the hotel was very good - always plenty to choose from.
Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel and found it in a great location for shopping at the metro-centre. If not, and you want to more central to bars & restaurants in the city centre - go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the car park area was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,064 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
756 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: $83 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing