We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food Wonderful Staff”
Review of YO! Sushi

YO! Sushi
Ranked #79 of 267 Restaurants in Gateshead
Price range: $39 - $52
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast Food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I go to Yo! Sushi every week they have a good selection of Japanese dishes not only do they sell Sushi but have curries, soups, noodles, rice and deserts to tempt everyone's pallet.
All the food is provided in different coloured plates or bowls that defines the price from £1.90 to £5.00 each. They have wonderful friendly staff and not only can you eat in but they do a range of takeaway meals and delivery.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    18
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yo sushi”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I go here a lot , and its ok for yo sushi , service is ok sometimes they are spot on sometimes they aren't, it very much is hit and miss, but for a quick bite to eat , why not go, especially during blue Mondays , don't bother with sumo Sundays there's hardly nothing decent on the belt

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First time!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was my first Yo Sushi experience and I loved it. I will deffo go back. I only give it a 3 because choice on the belt was limited although you can order too. Very filling, great tastes and reasonable prices. Staff looked after us well as we were novices. Endless green tea was a plus :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Us3Dixons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hand rolls, yum”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really nice quick eatery in the centre of the restaurant corner of the metro centre. People seem to look at the price of plates and think its going to cost a fortune. However it usually comes to around £20 which I pay in most chain restaurants. Fresh food prepared in sight, friendly staff. Great choice of sushi and more substantial noodle dishes. Aim to go on a Monday for blue Monday where all plates are cheap at £2.50 so get your fill. Favourite plate to recommend is salmon and avocado hand roll. Was bit unexpected to be charged £1.05 for tap water but I wasn't going to complain as I'd had a great meal. Situated adjacent to the fantastic odeon so perfect for pre film meal. Also if you are not a savvy chopstick user they offer easier versions as well. Suitable for all wanting something a bit different

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_richard_kimble89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Weird chicken !”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I ate at Yo Sushi with my son today.....we were rather disappointed as one of the dishes we had was the noodles with chicken that was quite obviously sliced thigh meat which tasted weird and was of very poor quality.
The rest of the meal was okay but I thought the portions were smaller and that the food was basically of dismal quality than we have had in the last few months.
The staff were very good.
We will NOT be returning here again !
Our money is precious these days and we do not do second rate food a second time !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YO! Sushi also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to YO! Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing