We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good visit”
Review of Taybarns - CLOSED

Taybarns
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: So here it is! The Ultimate Eatery has arrived. An all-you-can-eat experience offering 7 restaurants under 1 roof at amazing value and convenience. Our famous 34 metre food counter displays freshly-baked pizza straight from our pizza ovens, Spice dishes cooked in woks, freshly cooked joints of meat for a proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings in the carvery section, delicious rotisserie chickens you can see being roasted in the rotisserie oven. Crisp, healthy salads at the salad section and lots of indulgent puds! The foods we all love, all in a row, all cooked freshly in front of you by our chefs, and not forgetting our 'help yourself' drinks dispensers and delicious ice cream machines - all for one simple low price and all under one roof.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and always enjoyed it.
Went today (Sunday 27th July) there was a lot of local things on such as the air show and ladies day hence the reason I think it wasn't very busy because usually its heaving!
The food was fresh and hot. There's always something for everyone (even me who is lactose intollerant)
The staff that were were working today were very friendly and chatty.
Good value food and prices. Looking forward to going back and I'd recommend anyone who hasn't already visited to do so!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashlee2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 294 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

we have used taybarns at stoke on trent and it was great,on our trip to metro centre we were really looking forward to a great choice of hot fresh food,but alas we were very disapointed ,not the usual selection usually available from taybarns,a lot of the food looked like it had been sitting all night,it was dry,some shrivelled up and not apealling at all ,there was no lettuce ,salad selection poor,,no icecream,and the list can go on it was a very limited selection,if this had been my first experience with taybarns it would be my LAST!Complete waste of money,and it cost us the more expensive price,i certainly would not recomend to anyone.we met several people at premier inn who also used this taybarns and they also said it was not good and would not go back,it has really put us off this eating experience,very disapointing indeed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gymnastics_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

cheap and cheerful plenty of choice staff friendly and helpful value for money we go here every time we are in Newcastle and we have never been disappointed yet

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cant even call it cheap and cheerful. The kids didn't even like it...poor food and not good value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been to taybarns on a few occasions only really because my kids like the choice of different foods but its not really my first choice.if you don't catch it at the right times ,quality can be quite poor,but there is a good range of food so have a good look at what's on offer.the soft drinks are refillable and that's a good thing with two children in tow who drink like fishes.when it first opened taybarns had a great ice cream and sweet toppings section with good quality choice of sweets but not anymore,it obviously was proving to be too popular and costing too much for the company.its ok for a cheap quick meal as obviously there's buffet food out at all times but don't go expecting gourmet food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulataylor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taybarns also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Swalwell, Gateshead
Sunniside, Gateshead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing