We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you have a weak stomach”
Review of Taybarns - CLOSED

Taybarns
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: So here it is! The Ultimate Eatery has arrived. An all-you-can-eat experience offering 7 restaurants under 1 roof at amazing value and convenience. Our famous 34 metre food counter displays freshly-baked pizza straight from our pizza ovens, Spice dishes cooked in woks, freshly cooked joints of meat for a proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings in the carvery section, delicious rotisserie chickens you can see being roasted in the rotisserie oven. Crisp, healthy salads at the salad section and lots of indulgent puds! The foods we all love, all in a row, all cooked freshly in front of you by our chefs, and not forgetting our 'help yourself' drinks dispensers and delicious ice cream machines - all for one simple low price and all under one roof.
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have a weak stomach”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basic food, plenty of choice, low prices.
Food usually lukewarm, felt ill afterlast visit. excellent for families on a budget, but not if you are on a diet! Some of the clients are a bit rough

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    101
    98
    54
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good buffet food”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Foods good, visited 3 times now whn shoppin at metro. Food not high quality but u get wht u pay for. There's plenty of choice to suit all and eat as much as u want. Drinks are good value as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not the Place to Diet in”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a fab place were the Buffet food is above average. Having visited Taybarns on several occassions we have found the food selection very good with fantasic desserts. You can eat as much as you like for a fixed price and there is something to eat for every age group; children will love the place. Beware there is not the place to visit if you are on a Diet. Great fullfilling experience and I will vist again

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value , lovely staff.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We use South Shields Taybarns every Friday as a base for a family get together and have never been dissatisfied , food is great for the kids and adults , plenty of choice and lovely desserts .
All staff are very polite and friendly and do a great job of clearing your empty plates.... Even when they are really busy they still do a great job .
See you next Friday . The Wilson / Higgins families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C14ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful... but that's it”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I suppose we had been spoiled by the quality of similar establishments in USA. Taybarns, or at least this one, wasn't in the same league. The range of food available was somewhat overstated in the advertising blurb but there was still a fair selction. The carvery was good. I had turkey which was great - the gammon looked OK as well. At the Italian section, the lasagne was nice but not very hot. The pizza was disappointing. The ribs were OK but a bit cool and dried up. Based on the visual impression we didn't try anything else. The desserts were mainly various types of gateau so I plumped for the cheesecake. One bite was enough - very unpleasant. Not bad value but we wished we had gone to one of the many estabishments nearby at the Metro centre and spent a little more (not a lot, I suspect)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taybarns also viewed

 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing