We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't get much worse than this place”
Review of Taybarns - CLOSED

Taybarns
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: So here it is! The Ultimate Eatery has arrived. An all-you-can-eat experience offering 7 restaurants under 1 roof at amazing value and convenience. Our famous 34 metre food counter displays freshly-baked pizza straight from our pizza ovens, Spice dishes cooked in woks, freshly cooked joints of meat for a proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings in the carvery section, delicious rotisserie chickens you can see being roasted in the rotisserie oven. Crisp, healthy salads at the salad section and lots of indulgent puds! The foods we all love, all in a row, all cooked freshly in front of you by our chefs, and not forgetting our 'help yourself' drinks dispensers and delicious ice cream machines - all for one simple low price and all under one roof.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Taybarns is the worst place I've ever eaten. I didn't think it was possible for a restaurant to be quite this bad, but I was wrong!

Take your pick from the list, Taybarns has it all..

Filthy glasses, plates and cutlery, check!
Filthy table, check!
Disgusting, Inedible food made from the cheapest possible ingredients then cooked beyond recognition, check!
Bad service, check!
All the charm of a motorway services, yes you guessed it. Check!

Avoid at all costs!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns Newcastle Metro Centre. It is our aim to ensure all our guests enjoy our restaurant and I am sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.

I would be extremely grateful if you could take the time to contact either myself or one of my managers on 0191 4146308 to discuss the matter further and to rectify the problems that you encountered.

Once again thank you for your review, the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right

Mark McMenamy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 434 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family love going to Taybarns. The food quailty is very good. Great selection & a great place to eat. We've never been disapointed yet. On the whole for a family you won't go far wrong here. Knocks the socks of the average Burger Joint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. I will ensure your feedback is share amongst my team.
Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.


Mark McMenamy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went here as the place we were going to was closed but I wish we had not bothered. Dirty crockery, cutlery and condiments. Dirty glasses and awful drinks. The food was awful, can't think of having a worse meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank trepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns Newcastle Metro Centre. It is our aim to ensure all our guests enjoy our restaurant and I am sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.

I would be extremely grateful if you could take the time to contact either myself or one of my managers on 0191 4146308 to discuss the matter further and to rectify the problems that you encountered.

Once again thank you for your review, the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right

Mark McMenamy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After having fasting bloods done all I could eat breakfast was just the trick chef made me n hubby fried bread evn though it wasn't on the menu brill service n staff food was delicious xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. I will ensure your feedback is share amongst my team.
Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.


Mark McMenamy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having been here a lot and always finding it pleasant we were especially disappointed this time around. It was extremely busy which made us think the staff would be on the ball-how wrong we were! The food sections had lazy staff members that stood around doing very little. There were numerous empty food slots, some with barely anything left in them and these were not being replaced until prompted by customers who were fed up of waiting. The worst station was by far the roast dinner section ran by by an angry faced woman that didn't replenish anything and told every person that asked no matter when it was that it would be a 15minute wait for turkey. The turkey was actually not put out until an hour after we arrived and there was no mashed potato or roast potatoes as she had not bothered to cook any more and again it would have been another lengthy wait,to top this the few vegetables that remained were undercooked and gave the term 'al dente' a whole new meaning. This was unacceptable especially as it was 2pm on a Sunday-prime Sunday dinner eating day! We tried to eat from both the Chinese and Indian sections to our demise, we encountered similar problems of waiting for the food slots to be changed-after 40minutes waiting and three different attempts to see if anything had been put out i prompted the dozy man and he said five minutes. During this five minutes he proceeded to rush on all of the dishes he should gave started over 40 minutes ago, the undercooked sweet and sour chicken was hardly worth his efforts; the onion and peppers still being raw and the chicken coating was soft, mushy and not crispy. We ended up having to fill up on pizza and chips (the only stations that were actually filled up without asking.) We could have saved some money and gone to a local chip shop if all we wanted was that but no we actually thought Taybarns was meant to be a buffet with lots of choice! The dessert station wasn't much better with the same sponge pudding being put out 3 times in a row instead of logically alternating flavours to suit a diverse range of tastes. I asked so i do know they had other flavours available but just did not chose to cook them. The staff were all miserable and slow especially the blonde haired waitress who looked like somebody had told her her house had burned down with all her belonging inside of it. I said thank you when she cleared my table and smiled but it fell on deaf ears. The roast dinner server looked like she would be more suited to a women's prison wing than serving paying customers. Her attitude was terrible and she was very lazy. I won't even start on the disgusting toilets as it is a game of chance trying to find a clean cubicle.

Do not go here unless you enjoy gambling as with this place you never do know what you are going to get!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Loual15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns Newcastle Metro Centre. It is our aim to ensure all our guests enjoy our restaurant and I am sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.

I would be extremely grateful if you could take the time to contact either myself or one of my managers on 0191 4146308 to discuss the matter further and to rectify the problems that you encountered.

Once again thank you for your review, the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right

Mark McMenamy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taybarns also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Swalwell, Gateshead
Sunniside, Gateshead
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing