We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchleigh Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst attending a friend's wedding. The room was superb, very clean, warm and clearly recently re-decorated. The couple who run the place were very friendly, attentive and even offered to give my wife a lift to the wedding venue! The breakfast was very tasty, with a decent portion size and a good variety of dishes, including some for the veggies amonst us. We left with the highest opinion of this place and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Birchleigh Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this B&B as we were attending a hotel in the area. My partners mum found this B&B on the internet. When we arrived we were greeted and shown to our room, the room was small but beautifully decorated. It was big enough for what we needed it for. When we got back from the wedding late at night there was a flask of cold milk outside our door so we could have a cup of tea in the morning. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The breakfast was lovely too. It was such a nice stay and I would definitely stay again if i was in the area again, i would and have also been recommending this hotel to my friends. One thing I would say though is, they should charge more for the superb room, service and breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

What a fab B & B, very comfortable, clean and super decor far better than most hotels we have stayed in. Linda & Peter are lovely host's and Linda cook's a mean breakfast. Highly recommended and we would book again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Only stayed one night whilst visiting relatives staying nearby. Wow what a find. This place is excellent. The owners very welcoming, the guest house is immaculate. We had a rear bedroom giving excellent views out to sea. The breakfast is cooked to order, and we have had far inferior breakfasts in 4 star hotels at twice the price. Shame we only stayed one night. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is a Very nice B&B One of the best we have been too.
Good service and very resonable price wise. We used this place as a base to visit the Lakes
and would use it again. Grange is quite in the evening. But nice hotel just accross the road for your evening meals and a nightcap.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kengblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but thought it a great B and B, newly refurbished with contemporary but neutral linen and decor and up to date en suite. Breakfast was really good fresh products so would strongly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tys-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Birchleigh Guest House is modern, clean and very welcoming. The breakfast was superb, with many of the ingredients being sourced locally. The owners were also very helpful and lovely, picking me up from the station and dropping me at a destination I was required to be at close to the guest house. Overall I highly recommend Birchleigh guest house!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hc21503899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#9 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchleigh Guest House

Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $102 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchleigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Birchleigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchleigh Guest House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing