We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Grange-over-Sands
Post
Inbox
Search

“Disappointing food and service”
Review of Butterfingers

Butterfingers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Description: Friendly family run business established for 27 years. Serving everything all day.
Restaurant details
Description: Friendly family run business established for 27 years. Serving everything all day.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived early on a Saturday morning with just 1 other customer seated. We were greeted pleasantly and our drinks order taken. We were asked if we were ready to order but had only been there a couple of minutes so we asked for a little time - a lot of time is what we got. More customers came in - 3 tables I believe and all were attended to. A little time to peruse the menu would be 5 minutes? We were there approx. 15 minutes, by now the staff were in the kitchen cooking or wiping down surfaces but no eye contact or attention at all. I approached the counter and asked if I could order some food - the waitress looked astonished.

The food came relatively quickly - a full English and a jacket potato with a side portion of mushrooms. The menu stated that the jacket came with a salad but that didn't materialise at all and the extra mushrooms was infact 'a' mushroom' sliced.

The full English was hot but very very greasy.

All in all a disappointing experience which is really sad as we very much like to support the local trades and don't critique lightly.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Worldglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2020

Had brekkie here both mornings. Service was perfect. Brekkie was perfect and it was very reasonably priced too. Will return on our next visit

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Muckymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for a quick bite to eat for a late lunch. Had jacket potatoes which were cooked nicely and plenty of cheese filling. Staff were neither rude not friendly just generally not very talkative.

The menu was ok, but the decor needs some tlc.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank stephandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Called for a Bacon & Egg sandwich yesterday, as usual excellent, we have visited many times, can’t fault anything. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, my wife has dementia and they all look after her, she also has celiac decease which is no problem with the menu. I recommend all visitors and locals to visit, if you have visited before keep going and support this excellent local business.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Called in for breakfast and coffee. Can’t fault anything, good food and service all reasonably priced

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank itsnick1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfingers also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Low Newton, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Butterfingers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing