We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, very dated.”
Review of Abbot Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location and very impressive to look at from the outside. Unfortunately the room we were allocated hasn't been updated for 30 years at least and had a view of the roof rather than the sea. Beds uncomfortable, dismal lighting, insects everywhere and the heating on 24 hrs a day in the middle of summer. Breakfast was a rip off. £8.75 and the only thing that was unlimited was toast. The bald chap keeping a tight grip on the hot breakfast counter looked like I'd upset him when I asked for two sausages and watched like a hawk until I'd finished and duly nicked my plate away before i had chance to go back for seconds. I know it's a Christian retreat, but for god sake show a little generosity. Lots of little Rod and Todd Flanders running riot until the late hours. May god be kind on you of you book at this holy place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8ballhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotHallHotel, Front Office Manager at Abbot Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you experienced some issues. We assure you that the situation with breakfast is not the norm, and food is certainly not rationed. If problems are brought to our attention during a stay, we do our very best to rectify them at the time. As you can see from our other guests feedback, we normally receive good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was five of us staying in one of the lodges - two couples and a child. We were absolutely happy with this accomodation - functional, clean, VERY well equipped, you can just come and live here, really! No problem to use a BBQ outside the lodge. The views are beautiful and a little forest just nearby brings this wonderful freshness to the air especially early mornings.
We used this accomodation as a base to explore the Lake district, and as long as you are with a car, the location is totally convenient.
We were so busy exploring the beauties of the area that never got a chance to visit the pool and I wouldn`t know to say how the rooms are within the hotel itself, but the lodges are fantastic and we are defo coming back!! This time without our coffee, sugar, spoons etc ... everything for your stay is provided!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasija_anarid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed over the weekend at the end of May, I was looking for a cheap getaway from the North, and found this little place.

It's very far away from anywhere, really, the closest town has a fish shop open 3 days a week, and a Spar/ Co-op that battle in bread and milk prices.

We had a car, so it wasnt much of a problem, sleep was very peaceful, decor was very recent and modern, based on an old mansion this surely was a very big shock!

One gripe I did have about the place, was one of the front of house staff who didn't seem too pleased to be there, but hepled us non the less, this was the only issue, I would suggest that if you are a younger couple, you would avoid this place, it was for sure aimed at the older generation.

Swimming pool was amazing, always empty after 7PM so that gave us a good two hours swim before bed, a great way to wind down after a long day out in the lakes.

We unfortunately had a room overlooking a roof, so we only got to see about seven m of roof and a line of trees, not the ideal situation, but nontheless, a great room.

We did have a problem with the kettle, had not been cleaned in atleast two visits, the water inside the kettle was smelly and there was a large amount of limescale that I could not budge, we got a new kettle after reporting it downstairs at reception on the evening - We had hot chocolate we needed to drink! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a 'premium' / Deluxe room, I found calling up was cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eastonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Loved my stay here. Ulverston was so busy and expensive so I thought Grange-over-Sands would make a nice change. So glad I did, this hotel is a diamond of a place. Was a little worried at first as the sign on the way in says Christian Guild so thought it would be a right God Botherer place, but to be honest everyone was so friendly and welcoming.
Will stay here again if I get the chance.
The only drawback I found was the internet. I wanted to catch up with a few things on iPlayer whilst I was there, but the Internet was soooooooooooooooooo slow. Said would take 12 hours to download TopGear :(
Other than that though, Loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 25 which is a single room. No TV, but did have coffee/tea making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazimu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hotel in lovely grounds, not far from lakes, room large with double and single bed, tea and coffee making, had evening meal limited choice but nicely presented and good quality food, great pool area, needs a bit of updating , but every where was clean and tidy, would definitely stay here again and would like to hire one of the lodges, all the staff and guest were very friendly. A great stay with my granddaughter, we felt very safe on our own at this hotel when we checked in the receptionist asked if we wanted help with the bags, a man took the bags up to our room, you don't get that at the travel lodge or premier inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this hotel as a cheap deal for £50 a night room only. It took a bit of finding as the sat nav took us to a housing estate nearby. Print off directions if you can. Our welcome was great, with a welcome pack providing all we needed to know. There is a good sized swimming pool in the grounds which can be used free of charge and wasn't busy. Towels are provided too. Our room was basic with furniture Utility style but we had an en suite which was adequate and everything was clean with plenty of toiletries, and tea and coffee. We didn't have the evening meal as there is only one setting at 6.30 but followod a recommendation on this site went to The Pheasant a mile down the road which was good value for money and extremely friendly. The staff in Abbots Hall are very good, friendly and helpful and the hotel itself has an old fashioned charm with dark wood and stained glass downstairs. Have the breakfast, its good value for money with excellent friendly service. You can have all that you can eat.

Room Tip: Lower floors less basic and front rooms have a view of the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've stayed in these lodges a few times and love the feeling of being in a field which overlooks tthe estuary and getting up and going to bed whenever we feel like it because we are never disturbed. We've stayed in three different lodges (you can only get an internet connection in lodge 4) including the one which caters for disabilities.WE have always found them to be clean and comfortable.
Most of the time we eat in the hotel cafe where the reception is- this is the conservatory built on the front of Abbot Hall and it is a lovely little relaxing place. If we particularly like the menu choice ( although it is all well thought out) then we may book a meal in the hotel itself but generally we eat in the cafe at lunch time and then b uy something to have in the lodge. The lodges are always well stocked with toiletries and complimentary tea, coffee milk and the heating, if you should require it is more or less instantaneous in heating the lodge up. We ended up though opeining windows and doors to try and cool down the lodge a little as heat builds up in it quite quickly even when the heating isn't on. Even when we had the bedroom window open it tended to be too warm to get good quality sleep.
My husband used the hotel swimming pool but I opted out of this one even though he said the water temperature was reasonable.
The grounds are lovely to walk in although the lower grounds tend to get waterlogged quite quickly but there are certainly plenty of places to walk nearby - the post office is at the end of the hotel drive and the train station less than a minute away from that. We were glad we had the lodge as they had a tv in and, apparently the rooms in the actual hotel don't although you can watch the tv in the large lounges. The hotel tends to have quiz evenings which we joined in with - very enjoyable.
We enjoyed our stay but more so because we could take our dog with us which cost only £5 a night - cheaper than kennels.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful if we had any queries

Room Tip: There isn't lift in the main hotel but the lodges if you should choose to stay in them are clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
2.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
256 reviews
13.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot Hall Hotel

Address: Flat 1 Lymehurst Hotel Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $51 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbot Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is believed that the monks of Furness Abbey bought the land and built the first Abbot Hall around 1160. The present building was constructed in 1840; since when Abbot Hall has been a family mansion, a school, and a Christian Guild hotel since 1916. Overlooking Morecambe Bay, Abbot Hall is set in extensive grounds which include a 15 metre heated indoor swimming pool and five self-catering pine lodges, accommodating up to 22 guests. All ensuite rooms now have flat screen televisions. Situated on the edge of the hamlet of Kents Bank, near to the Victorian resort of Grange-over-Sands, Abbot Hall is readily accessible by road or rail. It is an ideal centre for exploring the beautiful Lake District, and is only 20 minutes drive from Newby Bridge at the foot of Lake Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abbot Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot Hall Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing