We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - friendly - perfect”
Review of Abbot Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbot Hall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable - friendly - perfect”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed for a one night break at this hotel, which is a Christian run property.

There is a choice of modern or traditional rooms. Ours was a traditional room which felt very cottage like. It was very clean and comfortable, with a king size bed, en suite, and complimentary tea/coffee.

The hotel itself is a beautiful old property, with many original features, set in beautiful well maintained grounds.

It boasts a lovely indoor heated pool which is open from first thing, till 9pm, and was never busy.

The breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choice.

We fully recommend this venue for short or longer stays

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    35
    27
    30
See reviews for
44
97
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean bedroom ,but no television in bedroom told by staff it would cost too much to put sets in each room. Small bathroom with tiny kidney-shaped bath , plenty of towels but had to ask for a toilet roll on 2nd morning.

thought breakfast £ 8.95 was expensive didn't have dinner instead went to the Pheasant ,no more than 2 miles away , very good food generous helpings!

Room Tip: look -out to the sands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you like the traditional style of hotel, then this is for you. Spacious and comfortable, the public areas are really good. Nice little cafe by reception, large old-fashioned dining rooms, comfortable bedrooms and en suites. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There is a good indoor swimming pool. Beautiful extensive grounds for walking, and close to the lovely little town of Grange over Sands.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Waiting years to experience the lake district, I was not disappointed, it is a beautiful place, with breath taking views. My partner and I stayed at Abbot Hall over a weekend, the service we received was fantastic, Amanda and the team were friendly, down to earth people with interesting stories to tell, the room we stayed in was very clean and had fabulous views of the sea.

On the evening we dined in the hotel's restaurant, which I would highly recommend as the food is delicious, not forgetting the yummy breakfasts provided every morning.

I could not recommend a better place to stay, the hotel, the location, the food and the staff are all fantastic, we had an amazing time, which we will never forget and one day we will return.

Thank you, we look forward to staying with you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 6 was Fab ! We also had a look at the Lodges, perfect for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevienorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, overall ticks all the boxes. It is a Christian Guild hotel but it suits everyone. The rooms are spotless and there is 3 lounges to watch TV in. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable comfortable hotel to tour around the lake district. It is only 30 mins from Bowness-on-Windermere where lake Windermere is. Food is nice and staff really pleasant. There is a swimming pool. The only downside I would say is that there is not a TV in room but it was not the end of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotHallHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbot Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi...What a super review thank you..It really makes a difference to our dedicated staff when they receive such a positive review.. Thank You and we hope we can look after you in the future...From all at Abbot Hall..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband daughter and I stayed here in one of the lodges and will definitely be coming back. The lodge was immaculate and everything you needed for a hassle free stay was provided even washing up liquid!!!. My husband and daughter enjoyed the swimming pool while I took in the views of the amazing vast bay. There is a children's playground and also a steam train. The nearby village looks very quaint, even though we didn't have time to look round. Overall a perfect getaway if your looking for some peace and quiet with a little taste of home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldo2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotHallHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbot Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank You for such a fab review after staying in one of our lovely lodges.. We love the comment ref the washing up liquid, after all its all in the detail.. Thank You :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a self catering log cabin. Was everything we expected it to be. Reasonably well equipped, clean and tidy. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and the swimming pool is great. We didn't go into the main part of the hotel to try the cafe/restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landytue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
2.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot Hall Hotel

Property: Abbot Hall Hotel
Address: Flat 1 Lymehurst Hotel Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbot Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is believed that the monks of Furness Abbey bought the land and built the first Abbot Hall around 1160. The present building was constructed in 1840; since when Abbot Hall has been a family mansion, a school, and a Christian Guild hotel since 1916. Overlooking Morecambe Bay, Abbot Hall is set in extensive grounds which include a 15 metre heated indoor swimming pool and five self-catering pine lodges, accommodating up to 22 guests. All ensuite rooms now have flat screen televisions. Situated on the edge of the hamlet of Kents Bank, near to the Victorian resort of Grange-over-Sands, Abbot Hall is readily accessible by road or rail. It is an ideal centre for exploring the beautiful Lake District, and is only 20 minutes drive from Newby Bridge at the foot of Lake Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Abbot Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot Hall Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing