We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house & garden”

Holker Hall and Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holker Hall is the home of the Cavendish Family who welcome visitors of all ages to one of the best-loved stately homes in Britain. Magnificently situated only a short distance from Grange-over-Sands and the expanse of Morecambe Bay and is set in exceptionally beautiful countryside with gardens that merge into Parkland, framed by the Lakeland Hills.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely house & garden”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

great day out for all ages, house is beautiful inside and the gardens are just as fantastic, lovely warm day so we managed to explore all around them, kids loved the garden quiz, kids also go free here in 2013. Shop full of lots of gifts soon slighty over priced but no different to anywhere else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millergirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    141
    30
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A day to remember”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When me and my wife went to Bowness in the Lake District, we visited Holker Hall. It was a very warm day, the flowers were in full bloom, the Hall was exceptional, as were the Staff. The food Hall was very good, if somewhat pricey, but I suppose a Hall such as this has to meet its upkeep and running costs by whatever means they can as it must cost lots to keep this beautiful Hall going from day to day. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Artytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gardens to visit in June”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully designed, modern wild meadows and more formal gardens. A gem in the Lake District .We went in June ..roses not yet out so will need to visit again. Cafe good quality lunch. Free entry if you are an RHS member ...or historic houses member, and as usual this isn't clear at the entrance. The formal garden has a great LIme tree, one of 50 trees selected for the queen's coronation. We didn't go into the house. There is also a large parkland area with deer (dogs allowed on lead in the parkland)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Lovely landscaped gardens”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent just over an hour wandering around the gardens and parkland. Rhododendrons, azaleas and other plants in flower made the garden stunning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Gardens”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As a member of the RHS I have visited quite a few gardens and this was one that I particularly enjoyed. I was fortunate with the weather, after a brief shower it was sunny & warm for the rest of the time I was there. From the formal, strict layout of one area you are led to the informal delights of a wild flower meadow with mock standing stones, lots of room for children to run about and enjoy being outside. There are large shrubs & mature trees through which paths meander for you to wander at will, perhaps encountering a male Pheasant or a mother hen with chicks as I did. There is also the Deer park to enjoy if you still have time. I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the South Lakes area or take a picnic and spend the whole day there. I did not visit the house as I spent so long enjoying the gardens and grounds so will save that for my next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marmotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holker Hall and Gardens also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to Holker Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing