We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel, spotlessly clean, excellent food”
Review of The Lymehurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lymehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The en suite was excellent, bath and shower. Wi Fi connection was very strong and free of charge. Breakfasts were a real treat, full cumbrian is excellent as was the smoked haddock wit poached egg. We had dinner there one night and were really impressed with the quality and presentation. The bar prices were very realistic not exhorbitant! All the staff were attentive and friendly nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mory46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 432 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lymehurst recently for one night and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is very welcoming and the room clean and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised. The presentation of the food was lovely and we couldn't fault the meal in any way, in fact my husband commented that it was one of the best meals he's eaten in a restaurant! I had the fillet steak and it melted in my mouth.
Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive with plenty of choice.
We would definitely choose the Lymehurst again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A splendid Victorian property tastefully converted and modernised to the highest standards. The decor is perfect in natural, soft shades and every little detail is managed with care. My single room was spacious and spotless; the bathroom was beautifully appointed (with a bath too!) and the bed very comfortable and cosy. Dinner was excellent - I tried the game pie - and the breakfast choice was extensive including kippers. The hotel offers free car parking, free WiFi and a pleasant lounge. I can't sing its praises highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had another amazing meal at The Lymehurst. Andrea and Kevin's attention to detail is second to none.

I have dietary issues, but this is not a problem - the food appears and no-one else is aware that mine is slightly different.

Just booked Christmas lunch again for this year and this is the highlight of our Christmas Day,

Room Tip: We did not stay as we only live 6 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynisphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A lovely small hotel. Rooms very well appointed. Good well stocked and friendly bar. Service very good. All parts of the hotel are well appointed and Extreamly well maintained. The shower gell is of good quality. Good choice for breakfast and well cooked. Local sausage and good quality eggs. Did not try the restaraunt but would recommend it as there are not many eating places in grange

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at Lymehurst for 3 nights. Nothing too much trouble. Room spotless. A little tip for a peaceful night. If you hear an unexplained hum at night it may be coming from the clock/radio. Best to turn it off at the mains. Otherwise really comfy bed. Food really good. Breakfasts exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florence041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the second time we have had a meal at this restaurant and the food is consistently good.
It is a fine dining experience and is a good place to go for a celebration or special meal.
They have a good wine list to accompany the food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
497 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corner Beech House
Corner Beech House
#3 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymehurst

Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $127 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lymehurst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lymehurst Hotel is a beautiful, centrally located hotel, in elegant Grange over Sands. The hotel itself is a Victorian building, retaining many original features and offers a welcoming, peaceful atmosphere and a spacious airy feel. Currently being diligently restored to its decadent original splendour, with incredible Designer Wallpapers, hand made beds, Hypnos mattresses -the most comfortable in the world, spa baths, walk in showers, and Ground floor Suites and Apartments. The Deluxe Suites provide perfect relaxation, family suite now available, deluxe dog friendly suite to pamper yourselves and your 4 legged best friend. Fabulous breakfasts cooked to order using award winning Mr Higginsons Cumberland Sausage and dry cured bacon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lymehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lymehurst Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
The Lymehurst Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing