We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most comfortable and welcoming home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Orlestone House

Sunrise from Orlestone House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House Spacious Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House
Spacious Lounge
View of patio from lounge
Kitchen with six seat table and TV
Kitchen showing woodburning stove and American style fridge freezer
Kitchen wood burning stove
Lounge and TV viewing
Main bedroom
Family bathroom with shower
Basement bedroom
Main bed, basement bedroom
Basement shower room
What a view from the prom!
Sunday bandstand - tea, cake or ice-cream?
Ancient limestone formations, Hampsfell
Bay view from Orlestone House
What a view! River Kent and Morecambe Bay from Hampsfell
A view of the garden
Spacious Lounge
Lounge with bay view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam T
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A most comfortable and welcoming home from home”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Orlestone House and will definitely book next time we travel to England to see our family. The rooms are spacious and very comfortably furnished and the kitchen is wonderfully equipped, enabling us to entertain six easily. The apartment is lovely and warm and water is constantly hot. Both bathrooms have excellent showers. After a long day sightseeing it is a real pleasure to come back to the apartment to relax, my husband particularly loved watching the 50" TV.
We 100% recommend the location, standard and comfort of Orlestone House to all. Enjoy, we certainly did!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: The second bathroom macerator was noisy but this was a minor irritation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepesh B
1 review
“Just what we wanted !!”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a high quality, modern apt. Clean, stylish and very well done. Really felt at home. It has everything you possibly need for a comfortable stay. There is one large bedroom in basement with 1 big double bed and 2 single bed. One more bedroom on ground floor. Kitchen had all the utensils, amenities, cutlery required. They even kept a few dishwasher tablets. There was a small TV in the kitchen so kids enjoyed watching while having breakfast/lunch. Location was good and a nice view from the living room of the street and far away bay. We were lucky to have good weather. Enough parking available. Read the owners instructions properly to see how to and where to park. Went for a walk with kids on some mornings and nice houses in the neighbourhood. There were books to read, guides on what to see in Grange and Lake district. Windermere was 20 mins drive but didn't feel too long. There was a nice pond in grange so half a day in grange is a good idea to spend. The paintings and other white goods in house were very good as well. The only downside if I may say was is that we found it a bit expensive...but it was worth it as we did late booking. The family loved the place !! The owners have taken personal interest in doing up the property. In summer you could sit outside for a nice lunch /breakfast .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the place, modern, high spec
Liked least: a bit expensive
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAMELA J
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Immaculate accommodation.”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation was almost perfect , really clean and very well supplied with everything we needed. We met the owner when we arrived and he invited us to help ourselves to mange tout, salad and flowers from the garden.
We were a little concerned about the distance from the property to the shops ect. My mother is 86 and tho' very fit finds walking distances quite tiring. However no problem, we walked in via the road and came back along the very interesting promenade. Fabulous butcher and baker in town.
Great views from the sitting room, ever changing because of the tide, Lovely patio to sit on if the weather allows, although the road is quite close the noise wasn't too obvious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: We are used to a bigger bed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofmann78
1 review
“Fantastic location and very spacious clean flat”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Orlestone House. Great location. So easy to get to places.
Flat was spacious, with huge window in the living room. The view was sensational and we even saw an incredible rainbow. We were very sad to leave and hope to be back next year. I have already recommended it to a friend of mine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3194YIbe...
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful apartment - lovely area we really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The apartment was lovely, very clean and well appointed. My grandson (18) loved the
pretend spider that was in a mitten on the fire. Grange over sands was such a pretty spot and we enjoyed travellin to other areas in the beautiful Lakes District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accommodation
Liked least: Lack of variety of nearby restaurants
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2013
Thank you for your supportive review. Cartmel is a great place for pubs and eating, as is Allithwaite, both short car journey or within walking distance. A trip on the train (one stop) to Arnside, where there are two pubs and fish & chips is well worth it. I am working on a website to inform guests more - so watch this space! Thanks, and do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Little_Mi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home - a great base!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent 5 days in the Lake District and used this gorgeous and stylish apartment as our base. Initially I was slightly worried that Grange-over-Sands was too far out from the main sights of the Lake District, however after looking at other holiday rentals and seeing how beautiful this apartment looked, we couldn't resist!

It wasn't far out at all and just like the other reviewers (when it did stop raining), looking at the view over Morecambe Bay was amazing. The rooms look exactly like the pictures and apart from buying food, you honestly do not have to buy any extras. The kitchen has every utensil you will need and there was even a huge range of books and cds in the open-plan living room. The wi-fi was great and really helped us out when looking at little places to visit and eat.

I have two niggles with the place.The first one is trying to find it and then trying to find the location of where to park. You can not park on the main road and beforehand, no map is given of exactly where the apartment is (though there is a visitor information pack in the apartment with a location map once you get in). Obviously once you go back and forth a few times and take your time, the place to park your car can be found just off-road on Methven Close on the right hand side next to the bins. The second is the smell from the dishwasher and how the cutlery and dishes come out with a rancid food smell and some of the remnants of the food and drink. We advised the rental company and am hoping this has been changed for next guests.

I would completely recommend this apartment despite the niggles and overall, found the apartment, Grange-over-Sands and the Lake District quite a lovely place!

A few tips:

If you are new to the Lake District as my partner and I were, a Mountain Goat Tour is perfect and can give you some great ideas of what to explore further.

Sarah Nelson's Gingerbread IS just as good as they say it is - eat it straight away whilst it is warm. However, when once home, place it in the microwave for 10 seconds to soften it up unless you want to break your teeth on it.

My partner and I spend a lovely evening eating at Porto's in Bowness-on-Windermere. The food was fantastic and the Twice Baked ‘Sticky Toffee’Soufflé is to die for!

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the window
Liked least: Parking and trying to find the place
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2012
A reasonable review and very pleased our guests enjoyed their stay at my Grange-over-Sands apartment and appreciated our efforts to make this an enjoyable experience. Yes, the apartment is a bit dificult to locate, if you rely on Sat-Nav with the postcode it takes you up the side road (Methven Road), which is wrong. Will try to improve the instructions. Regarding the dishwasher - this is a bit of a puzzle to us as we stayed in my apartment shortly after these guests and found nothing wrong with it - salt and rinse were both OK and our plates, cutlery came out fine and no bad smells - I can only guess that the users did not check that the rotors were free and that they were possibly blocked by something - a common problem. This apart, thank you to our guests for their supportive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing