We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked a night away, A major plus is this hotel is dog friendly and there are plenty of grounds to stretch their legs after a drive ! All dealings with the staff at the hotel were good. We were served by a particularly nice young lady on the Saturday evening in the bar - friendly and attentive service. Reception staff were also good.
The room was on the ground floor as I had requested and we had a view of the bay. The bonus was the spectacle of the peacock below the window:) I was a trifle worried that he might call and wake us in the morning but that didn't happen. He liked my crusts of bread and rewarded me with a wonderful tail feather show! The room was comfortable and had plenty of space. The bathroom was sparkling white and the shower worked well.
Yes the corridors are a little tired and the vending machine close to reception was noisy as you walked past. The lounge bar was spacious and comfortable The nice aspect to Saturday was there was a DJ who played music to request and we had a very nice evening of Genesis, R.E.M and other music of those genres.
Breakfast is served in a dining room again of good proportions and lovely feature windows overlooking the gardens and Morecambe Bay. Breakfast choice was comprehensive with fresh mushrooms (not tinned hoorah!) It was efficiently served and was all anyone could want.
All in all a very pleasant short stay and I would have no hesitation in booking a return stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having read some of the reviews on this site was casually quite worried about what this hotel was going to be like (it was booked by the company we were travelling with). We were met by the assistant.manager who gave a bit of info then the porter took our luggage up to the room.
The paint work outside does need a bit of attention as it does ,in places , on the inside. However our room was fine, lovely comfy beds, pure white linen, piping hot bath water, a great view , tv,hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and lovely white towels.
The food was excellent, five or six choices of starter and desert which was brought to you and the same amount of choices for the main except you went up and got it yourself - plenty of food and plenty of choices. Breakfast was also excellent, choices of fruit, natural yogurt and four or five cereals. Some cheese and ham - the bread rolls were a bit hard though. Fruit juices tea and coffee, then bacon, egg -scrambled or fried, mushrooms,beans,tomatoes,fried bread,potato cakes,black pudding,and sausage to choose from then toast and jam . Bar prices the same as any pub and tap water was offered for free ,it was fine. Wifi was free. Porter service at the end of the stay was also very good. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Finally on thetuesday evening there was a male singer in the bar and he was excellent as was the music provided on the Thursday.
A great place to stay and you can leave the hotel foe a lovely walk along the prom and through the gardens in town. Would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sali070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We bought 58 guests to the hotel, Coach arrived no porters until we had got all bags of the coach, The check in was ok, evening meal had plenty of options but food was of poor quality, waiting staff were actually off hand when asked for extra bread rolls was told no we asked if we could buy some was told no, staff spoke very little English. views are nice, the dance room was good with views the hotel does need upgrading, took 24 hours to get extra pillows, Breakfast was ok, we had let the hotel know we had special eating requirements these were forgotton by the kitchen staff on our first night they did rectify the problem but it should not have happened in the first place, you cant get a late drink either its like being on lock down in a hotel. Nice if you want a quiet time and nothing special

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a real treat. It is near the town of Grange-over-Sands, but hidden away in the trees. Although the Hotel is not new and could do with a refurb, it has a lovely homely feel to it. The public rooms are many and you can easily lose yourself in any of them if you feel the need. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a lovely old room with very high ceilings and lovely cornice's all around with windows facing the bay. The food was good with quite a variety, including an vegetarian option every night. The views are excellent, try to get room overlooking the bay, we had room 39 which is on the ground floor. A short walk takes you down to the Promenade which is a delight to walk along especially in the morning. All in all a lovely short break.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel as a party of 15 and check in was fast a friendly, our rooms were all close together on the same floor. My room was a twin and was very clean and had all I needed for my weekend stay, tea and coffee, trouser press, T.V. etc. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but was fine for me and it was clean. The hotel bedrooms are in need in some care and attention but are being renovated floor by floor so take this into consideration before booking. The hotel it is a beautiful building and the downstairs area is fine, the dining room is just georgous and worth a look even if you eat elsewhere. We booked into the hotel for the murder mystery and food was included with the deal. The food was fine and the saff were busy but efficient and friendly, bar staff the same. A good time was had by all of us and we are talking of a return vist for something similar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strongbow110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

hallways very tatty ; the bedroom cushions were covered in makeup . mouldy black in the bathroom . lightshades crushed and stained . skirting boards under window covered in what looked like coffee as round the bathroom door . no coffee in the room ! when asked at reception to cancel the booking was told i could upgrade for a further 120.00 pounds as i only booked a standard double . waiting staff best part of the hotel . 3 star hotel first class dump avoid at all costs . dave - wigan

Room Tip: choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haribo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel had great staff who were friendly and keen to help but the building inside needed a bit of a refurb. I understand it is a very old hotel but it needs a lick of paint and a good clean. Smelt very fusty in parts of the hotel. The rooms were pretty much the same. Clean though!
The breakfast was great. Big choice of cereals and fruit, juices etc. The fry up was good. All the usual hot options. Someone on hand to bring you fresh toast and coffee/tea.
All in all it was a good stay, but I wouldn't pay over the odds for a room. We paid cheaper laterooms prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
518 reviews
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,088 reviews
11.4 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $86 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing