We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand (It may be some day)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumbria Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
bredbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Grand (It may be some day)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for a three night weekend. (our third visit) The hotel is a beautiful Victorian period building which has been going through a period of restoration for many years. A lot of money has been spent but there is a long way to go.
The hotel restaurant lets it down. The breakfast buffet is truly excellent and could not be faulted. The dinner however, I, a City and Guilds qualified chef,would class as canteen quality food. The veg selection on the carvery is abysmal. Each night there was one prepared veg. and on frozen or other convenience one. Most carveries offer about six. On the last evening pea soup was a starter. It was probably just liquidised processed tinned peas, and awful. I would stay here again but only on b&b.

Room Tip: Bay view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    397
    168
    59
    53
See reviews for
132
438
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a great long weekend in Grange staying at the Cumbria. I have no complaints at all. The important things like the food and the staff were all fantastic. Breakfast help yourself buffet to cereal, fruit etc then a full cooked english was really good. The staff were all lovely and friendy. My room was comfortable and spacious. It was very quiet and peaceful. I can't understand the people moaning about it on here. Yes it is an old victorian building but that is half the charm of the place. And hotel star ratings are based on the facilities the hotel offers not if it looks immaculate from the outside. If that is what you want then by all means go to a different hotel. The one down the road looks picture perfect from the outside

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel looking out over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Was not value for money at all needs a revamp over all Needs some tlc all round good views over the bay was the high light the bar food and breakfast were above average But would not stay ther again sorry

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katijay1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful surroundings and with a tremendous amount of character. The building is a former Victorian hotel with spectacular architecture, but unfortunately the hotel has been in a sorry state of disrepair for many years. This is quite evident from your initial approach to the hotel for which the driveway has become extremely potholed. Although the rooms are basic they offer no WoW factor. The shabbiness is evidence throughout, halls are dimly lit, ageing decoration, peeling wallpaper, and worn out carpets.

I found the service from staff to be adequate, but not enough to make up for the general poor condition of the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grange-over-Sands hotels

Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel last night and were extremely disappointed.
The outside is very grand with beautiful views over the lake but as soon as we entered the Hotel it was evident that it was in dire need of a thorough spring clean and major renovation.
Once we left reception to go to our room the interior was even worse; plaster peeling off the walls and a generally terrible state.
The building was once occupied by the RAF and certainly on the 2nd floor it looks like it hasn't been decorated since.
We stayed in room 235 which was poorly furnished, poorly maintained and filthy.
There were cracked tiles on the bathroom floor and walls, mould on the window frames, taps, and shower hose and a thick layer of dust on the free toilettries which were extremely poor quality.
The moment we entered the room endeavoured to google for alternative accomodation but due to cartmel races everywhere was full hence complaining was futile.
We decided to watch the 12"x12" portable TV in our room and lay on our double bed which is the smallest double I have ever seen. The bed cover was filthy with dubious staining when we peeled it back.
We paid 3 figures for our B+B stay.
It was ridiculously overpriced and an embarrassment to the Lake District Hotel industry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent 4 nights up to 17th August. Four of us arrived together though we had booked separately. The drive has some potholes but not a problem if you drive carefully. Car park not very big but we had no problem finding a space. There were three coaches there so if there were fewer coaches and a lot more cars there would be a problem parking.

Reception was very helpful. Rooms were lovely though fairly small. They were well equipped and appeared to have had a refurbishment in recent times.
We found the food excellent both at evening meal and breakfast. Plates were cleared quickly and staff were pleasant. Because we had booked separately we were given separate tables for two but this was rectified quickly and without quibble
The bar was nice and comfortable. The ballroom was used twice for entertainment. Tues was a male singer in the "Sinatra" style. He was quite popular and clearly had been appearing at the Grand for some years. Thursday was disco night. The music was 50's 60'sand 70's. Only 20 or so people attended so clearly a disco was not what the guests wanted.
The ballroom has been newly painted and was nice but very underused.

Previous reviews have mentioned dodgy carpets. The ground floor corridor to the bedrooms needs some attention as does the route from the bar down to the ballroom. The carpets in reception and bar look fairly new.
The odd staff member was a bit surly but on the whole we were greeted and treated with respect and good humour.

Our break included the Windermere cruise to Bowness which was most enjoyable.

As previous reviewers have commented the hotel was a bit tired in places but refurbishment work is ongoing and I am sure improvements will continue and as long as they do the Cumbria Grand will receive better reviews. We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the car park but we were never disturbed by noise. The front rooms have the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Baz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were helpful and efficient. The room was fine with good views. Breakfasts were excellent in the large ornate dining room and the bar /lounge has lots of separate areas with well priced bar meals. There is a large ballroom and well maintained sunny gardens. There are woodland walks and 10 minute stroll to the station/lower town.

Room Tip: Ground or first floor south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
7.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque English Lake District, by the popular tourist town of Grange over Sands, the Cumbria Grand Hotel is a perfect base for a relaxing break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing